BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 4 November, 2004, 12:17 GMT
Rallying suffers double team blow
Citroen's Sebastien Loeb won this year's drivers' championship
Citroen's Sebastien Loeb won this year's drivers' championship
World champions Citroen and stablemates Peugeot will pull out of the World Rally Championship at the end of 2005.

The French manufacturers have blamed "tougher conditions in the car market" for the decision to withdraw.

Citroen and Peugeot have dominated rallying in the last five years, winning five manufacturers' titles and three drivers' titles between them.

Frenchman Sebastien Loeb was crowned drivers' champion in 2004 after just missing out on the title in 2003.

"Given the current economic climate in the industry, PSA Peugeot Citroen has decided not to commit to the world rally championship beyond 2005," said a statement on Thursday.

"In 2005 we will be studying alternative ways in which to keep an interest in the world of sport with a reduced budget.

"As soon as we know, Citroen Sport and Peugeot Sport will announce which disciplines we will be investing in beyond 2005."

On Tuesday, Ford, who have put their Jaguar Formula One motor racing team up for sale, said they would be staying in rallying for the next four years.

Loeb claims maiden world title
17 Oct 04 |  Rallying

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Raikkonen buoyed by rally debut
Loeb secures sixth title in a row
Rally GB secures future in Wales
Rally star Loeb denied F1 chance

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport