BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 7 June 2006, 13:27 GMT 14:27 UK
McGuinness completes double at TT
John McGuinness
John McGuinness finished ahead of Ian Hutchinson
John McGuinness claimed his second win at the 2006 Isle of Man TT by taking Wednesday's Supersport race.

The Honda rider from Morecambe completed his four laps over the Mountain Course in a race-record time of one hour, 14 minutes, 3.73 seconds.

Second-placed Ian Hutchinson was disqualified after scrutineers found his ZX6-R machine was in breach of TT rules on motorcycle specifications.

That meant New Zealander Bruce Anstey was promoted to runners-up spot.

Jason Griffiths was elevated to third place.

Hutchinson's exhaust camshaft lift was marginally outside specifications, according to race officials.

A TT spokesman said there had been no question of Yorshireman Hutchinson deliberately cheating.

"It is probably purely a mistake by the manufacturers of the camshaft," he said.

The Kawasaki would not have benefited from any gain in power and there is no question of cheating.

I am proud of this win and to set some records along the way is a bonus
John McGuinness

The top Irish finisher was Martin Finnegan in seventh while Adrian Archibald was off the pace in 13th.

The race had been initially scheduled for a 10.45BST start but was delayed by two hours because sea mist restricted visibility across the course.

When racing got under way it was McGuinness who was fastest through the Glen Helen timetrap with Hutchinson next quickest, 0.41secs behind.

At the end of the first lap McGuinness was leading by four seconds from Hutchinson after setting a new Supersport lap record of 18:21.04 at an average speed of 123.26mph.

On the second lap McGuinness, riding British Supersport rider Eugene Laverty's spare CBR 600cc machine, eclipsed his previous lap time by setting a new benchmark of 18:15.61 at a 123.975mph average.

Hutchinson mounted a late charge but could not catch McGuinness who completed his 10th TT victory.

"It was a really tough race though because I had to push so hard, all the way to the end," said McGuinness who had opened his 2006 campaign on the island with victory in the Superbike TT.

"A lot of the young guys' 600s are really competitive and I knew I had to race all the way to the flag.

"I am really proud of this win and to set some new records along the way is a nice bonus.

"But a record average speed of 123.9 miles per hour? That's insane, although the conditions here are the best we have had for a long, long time."

Manxmen Nick Crowe and Darren Hope completed a clean sweep of sidecar honours as they took victory in the Isle of Man TT Sidecar B race.

The duo, who had triumphed in the Sidecar A race, reprised their dominant performance of Monday afternoon as they came home in an overall race time of one hour and 55.64 seconds.

Crowe and Hope took the chequered flag 36.14secs clear of Steve Norbury and Scott Parnell, while Roy Hanks and Dave Wells were third.

Japanese rider dies from injuries
06 Jun 06 |  Motorbikes
Anstey secures TT superstock win
05 Jun 06 |  Motorbikes
Dominant McGuinness takes TT win
03 Jun 06 |  Motorbikes


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us