BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:58 GMT, Sunday, 13 June 2010 14:58 UK

Audi celebrate 1-2-3 in Le Mans 24 hour race

Audi's winning trio of cars at Le Mans
Audi's R15 TDIs enjoyed better reliability than their rivals

Audi filled the top three spots at the Le Mans 24 hour race after Peugeot's three works cars were forced to retire.

Audi's ninth win at the 8.4-mile circuit tied them with Ferrari for second place among the most successful manufacturers in Le Mans history.

Porsche has the best record with 16 wins at the famous endurance race.

Timo Bernhard, teaming up with fellow German Mike Rockenfeller and Frenchman Romain Dumas, completed 397 laps, one more than their nearest rivals.

France's Benoit Treluyer lagged one lap behind with Italy's Dindo Capello - part of a trio of drivers including Britain's Allan McNish - three laps back.

Fifth place went to the all-British line-up of Nick Leventis, Danny Watts and Jonny Kane in the Strakka HPD ARX.01c.

Defending champion Peugeot had been considered hot favourites after securing the four top spots on the starting grid. They clearly had the fastest cars but ran into problems during the race, while Audi took advantage of their own cars' better reliability.

The last works Peugeot left running, driven by Alexander Wurz, Marc Gene and Britain's Anthony Davidson, dropped out with engine failure with just two hours remaining at the Circuit de la Sarthe.

Peugeot had ended Audi's five-year domination at Le Mans in 2009 when claiming their first win since 1993.

The 1992 Formula 1 world champion Nigel Mansell crashed after just 17 minutes of his Le Mans debut on Saturday.

The 56-year-old spent several minutes in his car but was conscious when evacuated in an ambulance. He was later described as being "fine" by race officials.

Le Mans 24 hour race results:

1. Mike Rockenfeller (Ger), Romain Dumas (Fra), Timo Bernhard (Ger); Audi No. 9, 397 laps.

2. Marcel Fassler (Swi), Benoit Treluyer (Fra), Andre Lotterer (Ger); Audi No. 8, one lap behind.

3. Tom Kristensen (Den), Allan McNish (GB), Dindo Capello (Ita); Audi No. 7, 3 laps behind.

4. Soheil Ayari (Fra), Andrew Meyrick (GB), Didier Andre (Fra); Oreca 01 AIM No. 6, 28 laps behind.

5. Nick Leventis (GB), Danny Watts (GB), Jonny Kane, (GB); Strakka HPD ARX.01c No. 42, 30 laps behind.

6. Adrian Fernandez (Mex), Stefan Mucke, Ger), Harold Primat (Swi); Lola Aston Martin No. 7, 32 laps behind.

7. Matthieu Lahaye (Fra), Guillaume Moreau (Fra), Jan Charouz (Cze); OAK Racing Pescarolo-Judd No. 35, 36 laps behind.

8. Thomas Erdos (Bra), Mike Newton (GB), Andy Wallace (GB); RML Lola HPD No. 25, 39 laps behind.

9. Jacques Nicolet (Fra), Richard Hein (Mon), Jean-François Yvon (Fra); OAK Racing Pescarolo-Judd No. 24, 56 laps behind.

10. Karim Ojjeh (Swi), Tim Greaves (GB), Gary Chalandon (Fra); Team Bruichladdich Ginetta Zytek No. 41, 56 laps behind.

Print Sponsor

see also
Mansell suffers crash at Le Mans
12 Jun 10 |  Motorsport
Peugeot head Le Mans qualifying
11 Jun 10 |  Motorsport
Mansell set for debut at Le Mans
04 Feb 10 |  Motorsport
Peugeot win Le Mans 24-hour race
14 Jun 09 |  Motorsport

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Denver Post Audi captures 9th win at 24 Hours of Le Mans - 15 hrs ago
The Scotsman Peugeot's mechanical woes let Audi clean up in Le Mans - 35 hrs ago
Sympatico Audi claims 9th win at 24 Hours of Le Mans with record 397 laps - 36 hrs ago
3 News Audi takes top 3 places at Le Mans - 37 hrs ago
Times Online McNish plays part in Audi victory at Le Mans - 39 hrs ago


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.