BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:30 GMT, Saturday, 6 June 2009 11:30 UK

Isle of Man TT opener postponed

Cameron Donald
Donald was over eight seconds inside the official lap record on Thursday

Saturday's scheduled Superbike race at the Isle of Man TT has been called off because of heavy rain.

The Superbike race and Sidecar TT would have opened the meeting but they will now take place on Monday.

Monday's planned Superstock and Supersport races will now be held on Tuesday with the second Supersport and Sidecar races on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Cameron Donald suffered a suspected dislocated shoulder after crashing in Friday's final practice.

The Australian, who set an unofficial lap record on Thursday, now looks certain to miss Monday's Superbike opener after coming off at Keppel Gate.

The TAS Suzuki rider became the first man to lap the island course at over 131 mph on Thursday.

On Friday Steve Plater set the fastest Superstock time of 126.93mph.

Plater's time saw him just edge out Ian Hutchinson, who recorded a speed of 126.84 mph.

Plater, riding for HM Plant Honda, set his fastest Superbike time of the week in Friday's session (128.93 mph) but it didn't improve on his existing sixth place in the practice standings.

William Dunlop improved to seventh in the Supersport qualifying after posting a lap of 123.34 mph while his brother Michael and Ryan Farquhar both improved their superbike marks in Friday's session.

Michael Dunlop posted a 125.74 mph superbike lap with Farquhar improving to 126.73 mph but both were still outside the top six and well adrift of Donald's remarkable circuit (131.45 mph) on Thursday.

Race organisers reported that Donald was "conscious and talking" after his crash on Friday and it was later revealed that he has suffered a suspected dislocated shoulder.

2009 TT Best Times

1. Cameron Donald (Suzuki) 131.45 mph
2. John McGuinness (Honda) 130.17
3. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 130.12
4. Guy Martin (Honda) 129.16
5. Ian Hutchinson (Honda) 129.03
6. Steve Plater (Honda) 128.93

1. Steve Plater (Honda) 126.93 mph
2. Ian Hutchinson (Honda) 126.84
3. Keith Amor (Honda) 126.76
4. Cameron Donald (Suzuki) 126.43
5. Guy Martin (Honda) 126.05
6. Gary Johnson (Honda) 124.94

1. Michael Dunlop (Yamaha) 126.29 mph
2. Ian Hutchinson (Honda) 125.18
3. Keith Amor (Honda) 124.22
4. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 123.87
5. John McGuinness (Honda) 123.86
6. Steve Plater (Honda) 123.39

Print Sponsor

see also
Donald sets 'fastest ever' TT lap
05 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Anstey spurred on by TT rivalry
05 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Dunlop impressive in TT practice
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness storms to 130mph lap
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Tinmouth set for 2009 Junior TT
26 Nov 08 |  MotoGP
Inaugural TTXGP line up announced
03 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness close to TT lap record
03 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness fastest at TT practice
02 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
TT 2009 is officially underway
01 Jun 09 |  Motorsport

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.