BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:49 GMT, Sunday, 2 November 2008

Rollercoaster race to the F1 crown
Lewis Hamilton wins the Australian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton made a perfect start to his 2008 campaign on 16 March as he steered clear of trouble to win the Australian Grand Prix.

Only seven cars finished a race interrupted three times by the safety car, but the McLaren driver kept his head to take the lead in the title race.

It was a race to forget for Ferrari. Champion Kimi Raikkonen was closing in on leader Hamilton before a mistake dropped him to eighth, while Felipe Massa's chances went up in smoke after his engine blew.

see also
Hamilton's rise to the top
18 Jun 07 |  Motorsport
Hamilton wins dramatic F1 opener
16 Mar 08 |  Formula One

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.