BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 13 December, 2004, 14:04 GMT
World touring car series launched
A line-up of the new World Touring Car Championship cars
Eight manufacturers are entered for next season
Motorsport's ruling body the FIA has confirmed a 10-event calendar for the new World Touring Car Championship.

It begins with two races at Monza on 10 April, includes a round at Silverstone and ends in Macau on 20 November.

Alfa Romeo, BMW, Chevrolet, Ford, Seat, Honda, Peugeot and Chinese carmaker Brilliance have all entered.

FIA president Max Mosley said: "I very much look forward to the first season of what I'm convinced will be a very exciting new championship."

Alfa Romeo have signed up former Grand Prix driver Gabriele Tarquini and touring car veteran Fabrizio Giovanardi.

Chevrolet's line-up includes former German Touring Car champion and Ferrari Formula One driver Nicola Larini and ex-British Touring Car champion Alain Menu.

Titles will be awarded to the winning driver and manufacturer.

World Touring Car Championship 2005 Calendar

10 April Monza (Ita)
1 May Magny-Cours (Fra)
15 May Silverstone (GB)
29 May Imola (Ita)
26 June Puebla (Mex)
30 July Spa-Francorchamps (Bel)
28 August Oschersleben (Ger)
18 September Istanbul (Tur)
2 October Valencia (Spa)
20 November Macau (Chn)

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Watch NW200 highlights
Go Motorsport
Formula 1 standings

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport