BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 11 June, 2004, 06:44 GMT 07:44 UK
Herbert heads Le Mans field
Jonny Herbert's Audi at Le Mans
Herbert is hoping for a second win after qualifying on pole
Jonny Herbert will start the classic Le Mans 24 Hours sportscar race from pole position on Saturday.

The Englishman, sharing an Audi R8 with countrymen Jamie Davies and Guy Smith, set a lap of three minutes 33.024 seconds in Thursday's final qualifying.

Scot Allan McNish will start alongside Herbert on the front row in an Audi shared with Germands Frank Biela and Pierre Kaffer.

Former world rally champion Colin McRae will start 21st on his Le Mans debut.

McNish expects the race, which starts at 1500 BST on Saturday, to be the toughest for years, despite the lack of competition for Audi.

The German cars have qualified in four of the top five places on the grid, with only the Zytek of former Grand Prix driver David Brabham and Englishman Andy Wallace getting among them in third place.

McNish said: "It isn't like 1999 when all the world's top car makers were at Le Mans, but I reckon it's going to be harder that any of the others I've been involved in," said McNish.

"We are racing against other teams but we all have identical equipment."

McRae, who will be driving a Ferrari 550 Maranello GTS, added: "After having now been to the Le Mans test and spent some more time in the car I'm really looking forward to the race."

The race also features Britons Ralf Firman, who drove last year for the Jordan Formula One team, and Justin Wilson, who lost his seat at Jaguar after starting the Grand Prix season with Minardi.

Le Mans qualifying times:

1. Johnny Herbert - Jamie Smith - Guy Smith
(GBR) Audi R8, Audi sport UK 3:33.024
2. Frank Biela - Pierre Kaffer - Allan McNish
(GER-GER-GBR) Audi R8 Audi sport UK 3:33.233
3. Andy Wallace - David Brabham - Hayanari Shimoda
(GBR-AUS-JPN) Zytek 3:33.923
4. Seiji Ara - Rinaldo Capello - Tom Kristensen
(JPN-ITA-DEN) Audi R8 Japan Team Goh 3:35.075
5. Emmanuele Pirro - JJ Lehto - Marco Werner
(ITA-FIN-ALL) Audi R8 Champion 3:35.892
6. Sébastien Bourdais - Nicolas Minassian - Emmanuel Collard
(FRA) Pescarolo C60-Judd 3:36.525
7. Hiroki Kato - Ryo Michigami - Ryo Fukuda
(JPN) Dome Mugen Kondo 3:36.736
8. Jan Lammers - Chris Dyson - Katsumoto Kuneishi
(NED-USA-JPN) Dome Judd Racing for Holland 3:36.847
9. Martin Short - Rob Barff - Joao Barbosa
(GBR-GBR-POR) Dallara Judd 3:39.260
10. Tom Coronel - Justin Wilson - Ralph Firman
(NZL-GBR-GBR) Dome Judd Racing for Holland 3:40.261

Le Mans qualifying times
11 Jun 04  |  Motorsport
Audi UK win Sebring
21 Mar 04  |  Motorsport
McNish wary of change
19 Feb 04  |  Motorsport
F1 stars join Audi
11 Feb 04  |  Motorsport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Watch NW200 highlights
Go Motorsport
Formula 1 standings

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport