BBC Sport
 You are in: Special Events: New Year Honours  
Sport Front Page
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland

BBC Sport Academy
BBC News
BBC Weather

  Saturday, 30 December, 2000, 00:00 GMT
Redgrave heads New Year list
Steve Redgrave
Redgrave adds another honour to his collection
Sir Steven Redgrave heads a list of 46 sporting figures who have been honoured in this year's New Year Honours List.

Five-time Olympic gold medallist Redgrave receives a widely anticipated knighthood.

Former Manchester United goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel, ex-England cricket captain Ted Dexter and jockey Frankie Dettori all receive awards.

But it is Sydney which dominates the list with all 22 Olympic gold medallists and five Paralympians honoured.

Redgrave's longtime colleague Matthew Pinsent, who won his third consecutive gold in Sydney, receives the CBE.

The other members of the coxless four crew, Andrew Foster and James Cracknell, are awarded MBEs.

Redgrave has previously been awarded the CBE and MBE for earlier Olympic exploits.

  MBEs for Team GB's winning eight
Louis Atrill
Francis Hunt-Davis
Simon Dennis
Luka Grubor
Andrew Lindsay
Fred Scarlett
Stephen Trapmore
Kieran West
Plus cox Rowley Douglas
This year MBEs also go to Britain's nine gold medallist rowers in the men's coxed eight.

In athletics, Jonathan Edwards is awarded the CBE for his triple jump gold medal following his MBE of 1995.

Heptathlete Denise Lewis is also honoured for the second time.

Britain's golden girl receives an OBE 12 months after the MBE.

Matthew Pinsent
Pinsent again shares the spotlight with Redgrave

Audley Harrison, Britain's first boxing gold medallist since 1968, will start his professional career as an MBE.

Modern pentathlete Stephanie Cook, shooter Richard Faulds and cyclist Jason Queally all get the same award.

Gold medal-winning sailors Ben Ainslie, Iain Percy and Shirley Robertson are also honoured with MBEs.

The hugely successful British Paralympic team are also recognised.

Five gold medallists - Vicky Broadribb, Kenny Cairns, Caroline Innes, Isabel Newstead and Lee Pearson - receive MBEs.

Schmeichel and Dettori

Away from Sydney, two high-profile foreign stars are honoured.

Jockey Frankie Dettori gets the same award for services to horse racing after a year in which he survived a serious plane crash.

Bill Adams also gets an MBE for services to horse racing's Stable Lads' Association.

Denmark's former Manchester United goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel receives an honorary MBE almost two years after he helped the club to the European Cup.

Other football figures honoured with MBEs are ex-Southampton manager Ted Bates, Portsmouth goalkeeper Alan Knight and Brendon Batson.

One of the pioneer black footballers in the 1970s, Batson is now a senior figure with the Professional Footballers' Association.

There is also a CBE for Everton chairman Bill Kenwright, albeit for his theatrical work.

Sheila Begbie gets an MBE for services to women's football.

Dale Reid
Reid's leadership qualities have been rewarded

In cricket, former England captain and chairman of selectors, Ted Dexter, receives the CBE.

"It is not just for me, it is for all the guys I have played with," he told BBC Sport Online. Dale Reid is rewarded with the OBE after captaining Europe's women golfers to Solheim Cup victory over the United States.

Darts legend Phil Taylor, winner of eight world championships, receives the MBE.

Even in a year of astounding success, non-Olympic sports are not forgotten.

Jean Perkins receives an OBE for services to netball and Ann Jee an MBE for work in the sport of squash.

Phil Taylor
Phil Taylor has dominated darts for a decade

Those who work behind the scenes in sport are also well represented.

The smooth organisation that bolstered the British Olympics team's chances is recognised.

There is an MBE for British Olympic Association's Director of Games Services, Louise Ramsay.

Meanwhile a number of other sports broadcasters and administrators also get honours.


  • Martin Hopkins, executive producer, BBC Sport
  • Adrian Metcalfe, TV commentator for services for UK Sport
  • Ken Reid, former Irish RFU chairman
  • Don Rutherford, Scottish rugby union


  • William Hardiman, sports ground management
  • Ron Jones, director of Sports Aid Cymru Wales
  • John Snowdon, amateur swimming

New Year Honours

Sporting knights

Olympic honours

Football honoured

'Services to sport'

Around the UK
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more New Year Honours stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more New Year Honours stories

© BBC ^^ Back to top

Sport Front Page | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League |
Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Other Sports |
Special Events | Sports Talk | BBC Pundits | TV & Radio | Question of Sport |
Photo Galleries | Funny Old Game | N Ireland | Scotland | Wales