BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 8 January 2006, 11:01 GMT
Europe seal Royal Trophy victory
Seve Ballesteros
Ballesteros celebrates victory in the Royal Trophy
Europe sealed victory in the inaugural Royal Trophy on Sunday after holding off Asia 9-7 in Bangkok, Thailand.

The hosts staged a stirring fightback after trailing 6-2 following Saturday's foursomes and fourballs.

But Swede Henrik Stenson proved the hero for Europe as he overcame Thailand's Thongchai Jaidee 5&4 to win the final singles match.

Graeme McDowell and Paul McGinley were Europe's other singles winners at the Amata Spring Country Club.

Earlier, European nerves were eased when McGinley won the first point of the day, a 2&1 victory over China's Zhang Lian-wei.

I was happy to see the boys fight back
Masahiro Kuramoto
Asia captain

Ballesteros' men moved to within half a point of victory with five games still in progress when McDowell finally overcame the dogged resistance of India's Jyoti Randhawa to win 3&2.

But after Nick Faldo, Ian Woosnam, Kenneth Ferrie and Thomas Bjorn all lost their matches, Asia threatened to pull off an unlikely win.

With England's David Howell down by one shot to Japan's Yasuharu Imano going into the last hole, the result was still on a knife-edge.

But Stenson held his nerve at the 13th with a par, as home favourite Jaidee bogeyed, to move five up.

It ensured that Stenson would at worst halve his match with five holes to play, which confirmed Europe's victory.

Afterwards, a delighted Europe captain Seve Ballesteros said: "I am really happy with the final score. It has been a great two days of competition and the team played fantastically."

Asia captain Masahiro Kuramoto, of Japan, hailed his side's late surge on the final day, adding: "I was happy to see the boys fight back.

"For a moment it looked possible that we could upset Europe as our players grew in confidence."

Sunday's Singles:

Yasuharu Imano (JPN) bt David Howell (ENG) 2 up
Paul McGinley (IRE) bt Zhang Lian-wei (CHN) 2&1
Graeme McDowell (NIR) bt Jyoti Randhawa (IND) 3&2
Arjun Atwal (IND) bt Nick Faldo (ENG) 3&2
Thaworn Wiratchant (THA) bt Ian Woosnam (WAL) 2&1
Hur Suk-ho (KOR) bt Kenneth Ferrie (ENG) 2&1
Keiichiro Fukabori (JPN) bt Thomas Bjorn (DEN) 4&3
Henrik Stenson (SWE) bt Thongchai Jaidee (THA) 5&4


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport