BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 15 November 2005, 18:13 GMT
McGinley dismay over absent stars
Paul McGinley
McGinley won the event in 1997
Paul McGinley has expressed his concern at the number of big names missing from this week's World Cup in Portugal.

Ireland's world number 20 will partner world number 14 Padraig Harrington, with whom he won the event in 1997.

But America's leading eight players will be missing as will South Africa's Retief Goosen, Fiji's Vijay Singh and Scotland's Colin Montgomerie.

"There's a huge amount of history and it's a shame it does not attract the top players," said McGinley.

"It's important to us - we don't view it the same way. I've never missed an opportunity to play and I never would."

The event takes place at the Victoria Clube de Golf in the Algarve between Thursday and Sunday.

England will also be represented by their top two ranked players in David Howell (13) and Luke Donald (15).

But world number 16 Montgomerie's decision to play in Japan instead means Scotland are represented by Stephen Gallacher (128) and Scott Drummond (150).

Zach Johnson
Zach Johnson will compete for America in Portugal

Wales can call on their best two players, Stephen Dodd and Bradley Dredge, who are 75th and 82nd in the world respectively.

The list of absentees is as long as it was last year when Donald and Paul Casey pipped Sergio Garcia and Miguel Angel Jimenez, who will compete for Spain again this year, by one in Seville.

America will be represented by Stewart Cink (25) and Zach Johnson (49) after Woods, Phil Mickelson, Chris DiMarco, Jim Furyk, Kenny Perry, David Toms, Davis Love and Fred Couples all said no.

The leading 18 players of different nationalities in the world rankings are eligible and they select a team-mate.

The decisions not to play by Singh, US Open champion Michael Campbell, Mike Weir, Stephen Ames, Nick Price and Thongchai Jaidee mean Fiji, New Zealand, Canada, Zimbabwe and Thailand are not even in the field.

Since the event came under the umbrella of the World Golf Championships in 2000, it has switched to two rounds of foursomes and two of fourballs.

World Golf Championship field:

Argentina (Angel Cabrera/Ricardo Gonzalez)
Australia (Mark Hensby/Peter Lonard)
Chinese Taipei (Wang Ter-chang/Chang Tse-peng)
Colombia (Eduardo Herrera/Diego Vanegas)
Denmark (Anders Hansen/Soren Hansen)
England (Luke Donald/David Howell)
France (Thomas Levet/Raphael Jacquelin)
Germany (Alex Cejka/Christian Reimbold)
Holland (Maarten Lafeber/Robert-Jan Derksen)
India (Jyoti Randhawa/Arjun Atwal)
Ireland (Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley)
Japan (Yasuharo Imano/Takuya Taniguchi)
Mexico (Pablo Del Olmo/Alejandro Quiroz)
Paraguay (Carlos Franco/Marco Ruiz)
Portugal (Jose-Filipe Lima/Antonio Sobrinho)
Scotland (Stephen Gallacher/Scott Drummond)
Singapore (Mardan Mamat/Lam Chih Bing)
South Africa (Tim Clark/Trevor Immelman)
South Korea (K.J. Choi/Chang Ik-Je)
Spain (Sergio Garcia/Miguel Angel Jimenez)
Sweden (Henrik Stenson/Niclas Fasth)
United States (Stewart Cink/Zach Johnson)
Venezuela (Carlos Larrain/Manuel Bermudez)
Wales (Stephen Dodd/Bradley Dredge)

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport