BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 16 February, 2004, 13:42 GMT
Birkdale to host 2008 Open
Mark O'Meara won the last time the Open was at Royal Birkdale in 1998
Mark O'Meara won the last time the Open was at Royal Birkdale in 1998
Royal Birkdale has been named as the venue for the 2008 Open Championship.

It will be the ninth time the British major has been held at the Lancashire course and the first time since American Mark O'Meara won in 1998.

"Royal Birkdale has endeared itself to all of the world's top golfers," said R&A chief executive Peter Dawson. "We are delighted to be returning in 2008."

Royal Birkdale first hosted the Open in 1954, Australian Peter Thomson winning the first of his five Open titles.

Eleven years later, he rounded off his collection of Open wins with a further triumph at Birkdale that he described as his greatest win.

Arnold Palmer triumphed there in 1961 and other winners at Birkdale include Lee Trevino, Johnny Miller, Tom Watson, Ian Baker-Finch and most recently O'Meara.

The 2008 event will run from 17 to 20 July.

Open returns to Carnoustie
22 Jan 04  |  Golf

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport