BBC Sport All the action as it happens


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:44 GMT, Tuesday, 20 October 2009 21:44 UK

Oxon Sports awards nominees named

Oxfordshire Sports Awards

The nominations for the Oxfordshire Sports Awards have been announced with athletes being recognised for their achievements in the last 12 months.

The shortlist of 36 has been chosen from over 100 nominations in 12 different categories.

All the shortlisted nominees have been invited to the prestigious awards evening on Friday, 13 November.

The winners will be announced by BBC Oxford, with all the reaction on 95.2 FM the following day.

The Oxfordshire Sports Awards 2009 finalists are:

Club of the Year

Abingdon Gymnastics Club

Oxford City Football Club

Witney Rugby Football Club

Coach of the Year

Ed Isard (Tennis)

Liz Basterfield (Swimming)

Lindsay Powell (Swimming)

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Eleanor Hubbert (Athletics)

Joshua Leake (Sailing / Active8 Disability MultiSports)

Richard Brooks (Sailing)

Tom Gretton (Active8 Disability MultiSports)

*Extreme Sportsperson of the Year

Junior Sports Team of the Year

Abingdon Vale Swimming Club

Banbury Rugby Club U11s

Chinnor RFC (Rugby Football Club) U16 Squad

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Holly Holden (Rowing)

Jack Taylor (Cricket)

John Paul (Cycling)

Junior Unsung Hero

Alice Moger (Netball)

Emily Webb (Gymnastics)

Sam Peris (Rugby and Badminton)

Sports Team of the Year

Banbury Central Bowls Club - Oxford League Division One Team

City of Oxford Rowing Club Women's Tier 1 Squad

Oxford University Women's Blues Squash Team

Sportsman of the Year

Bob Baker (Rugby Union)

Keith Arnold (Cricket)

Will Bratt (Motor Racing)

Sportswoman of the Year

Alice Powell (Motor Racing)

Hannah England (Athletics)

Imogen West (Swimming)

Unsung Hero

Bill Baker (Basketball)

Maggie Fisher (Netball)

Mary Evans (Tennis)

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

Debbie Gorrod (Rugby)

Karl Bushell (Table Tennis)

Neville Simmons (Marathon Kayaking)

* There will be a special presentation made for Extreme Sportsperson of the Year.

Print Sponsor