Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Football: Teams: Man Utd  
Front Page 
Eng Prem 
FA Cup 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Friday, 20 April, 2001, 12:31 GMT 13:31 UK
Sheringham scoops writers' award
Teddy Sheringham has scored 20 goals so far this season
Sheringham has scored 20 goals so far this season
Teddy Sheringham has been named Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association.

Manchester United striker Sheringham beat team-mate David Beckham to the award by two votes.

Sheringham is also one of the candidates up for the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year award.

"It is an honour bearing in mind the illustrious names who have won it in previous years," said Sheringham.

  Previous winners
1986: Gary Lineker (Everton)
1987: Clive Allen (Spurs)
1988: John Barnes (Liverpool)
1989: Steve Nicol (Liverpool)
1990: John Barnes (Liverpool)
1991: Gordon Strachan (Leeds)
1992: Gary Lineker (Spurs)
1993: Chris Waddle (Sheff Wed)
1994: Alan Shearer (Blackburn)
1995: Jurgen Klinsmann (Spurs)
1996: Eric Cantona (Manchester Utd)
1997: Gianfranco Zola
1998: Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)
1999: David Ginola (Spurs)
2000: Roy Keane (Manchester Utd)

"Although I'm very down and disappointed at the moment after going out of Europe, this is a very special personal highlight in my career.

"I'd like to thank all my team mates for their help and support. This is an honour for the club as well as for myself."

Sheringham has scored 20 goals so far this sesaon and is the first Englishman to win the writers' award since Alan Shearer in 1994.

He also follows in the footsteps of Roy Keane, who claimed the mantle last season.

Sir Stanley Matthews, who died last year, was the first winner of the award in 1948 and the statuette given to the winner is now named after him as a mark of honour.

Man Utd boss Sir Alex Ferguson
Ferguson pleased to see Sheringham honoured

United manager Alex Ferguson added: "I'm delighted Teddy has been voted Footballer of the Year.

"It's a fitting tribute to a player who has contributed so much to Manchester United this season.

"It's always difficult singling out individuals among so many great players but Teddy has been exceptional for us and thoroughly deserves this award."

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Links to top Man Utd stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Man Utd stories

^^ Back to top