BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:10 GMT, Saturday, 23 April 2011 19:10 UK

Arbroath 4-1 Montrose

Arbroath players break out the champagne
Arbroath created history by defeating Montrose

Arbroath secured the Division Three title - the first honour in their 133-year history - after an emphatic win over local rivals Montrose.

Steven Doris scored a penalty after being fouled by Sean Crighton after five minutes and Josh Falkingham slotted home just before the break.

Arbroath player-boss Paul Sheerin added an easy and fitting 61st-minute finish.

Terry Masson's volleyed in for Montrose 20 minutes from time, but Adam Strachan fired in a fourth in stoppage time.

Arbroath: Hill, McMullan, McAnespie, Falkingham, Wedderburn, McManus, Strachan, Gibson (Chisholm 60), Doris (McGowan 75), Swankie (Jordyn Sheerin 77), Paul Sheerin.
Subs Not Used: Burns, Griffin.

Booked: Wedderburn.

Goals: Doris 5 pen, Falkingham 44, Paul Sheerin 61, Strachan 90.

Montrose: Gonzalez, Hegarty, Sinclair, Crighton, Crawford (McNalley 46), Cameron, Masson, Davidson (Milligan 69), McCord, Nicol, Thompson (Pierce 68).
Subs Not Used: Wood, Murray. Booked: Hegarty, McCord, Nicol, Milligan, Pierce.

Goals: Masson 70.

Att: 1,243

Ref: Stephen Finnie

Print Sponsor

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.