BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:47 GMT, Sunday, 9 May 2010 16:47 UK

Fleetwood Town 2-1 Alfreton

Blue Square North

Fleetwood won promotion by beating Alfreton in front of over 3,500 in the Blue Square North play-off final.

Micky Mellon's side took an early lead through striker Gareth Seddon, who got on the end of a Nathan Pond cross.

Alfreton struggled to break through at the Highbury Stadium but, 10 minutes from time, Andy Todd was fouled in the box and converted the penalty to level.

But, just two minutes later, striker Lee Thorpe hit the goal which won promotion for the Lancashire side.

Fleetwood Town: Hurst, Beeley, Wright, Grand, McNulty, Pond, Clancy, Milligan, Seddon, Warlow, Mullan.
Subs: Barry, McGuire, Thorpe, Connors, Rogan.

Goals: Seddon 10, Thorpe 82.

Alfreton Town: Turner, Law, Shaw, Slint, McFadzean, Ross, Moult, Brown, Clayton, Hearn, Howell.
Subs: Mills, Wilson, Nightingale, Todd, Hall.

Goals: Todd 80.

Attendance: 3,592.

Referee: S Smith (Matlock).

Print Sponsor

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.