BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:59 GMT, Monday, 15 November 2010

BBC African Footballer of the Year shortlist revealed

2010 BBC African Footballer of the Year nominees
Gyan, Ayew, Eto'o, Toure and Drogba have been nominated for the award

The five candidates for the 2010 BBC African Footballer of the Year award have been revealed on the BBC's African sports programme Fast Track.

Ghana pair Asamoah Gyan and Andre 'Dede' Ayew, Cameroonian Samuel Eto'o, and Yaya Toure and Didier Drogba of Ivory Coast are included on the list.

The winner will be decided by African football fans, who have until 10 December to vote for their choice.

Voting for the award will take place via text and online.

The winner will be announced a week later on 17 December on the BBC's African sports programme Fast Track.

Both Sunderland striker Gyan and Marseille midfielder Ayew starred for Ghana as they reached the quarter-finals of the World Cup for the first time.

The 29-year-old forward Eto'o played a vital role as his Italian side Inter Milan won the Champions League and a domestic double.

English Premier League side Chelsea secured the a league and cup double for the first time in their history, thanks in part to the goals of 32-year-old striker Drogba.

While, Toure, 27, became the highest-paid footballer in English football following the midfielder's move from Barcelona to Manchester City.

The shortlist was determined by a panel of experts across Africa who took into consideration individual skill, technical ability, teamwork, consistency, impact on results and fair play.

"It has been a significant year for African football, with the World Cup being hosted in the continent for the first time and Angola hosting the Africa Cup of Nations," said BBC Fast Track presenter Farayi Mungazi.

"A youthful Ghana side lit up the World Cup so it is great to see the Black Stars duo of Asamoah Gyan and Dede Ayew receive their first nominations as well as the ever classy Eto'o, Drogba and Yaya Toure."

Last year's winner was Drogba of Chelsea and Ivory Coast after his consistent form and goals for club and country.

Previous winners of BBC African Footballer of the Year award:

2009 - Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)
2008 - Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)
2007 - Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)
2006 - Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)
2005 - Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)
2004 - Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
2003 - Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)
2002 - El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)
2001 - Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)
2000 - Patrick Mboma (Parma & Cameroon)

Print Sponsor

see also
Drogba wins BBC's African award
08 Jan 10 |  African
Aboutrika triumphs in BBC poll
16 Jan 09 |  African
Adebayor receives BBC award
04 Jun 08 |  African
Barakat receives BBC award
01 Feb 06 |  African
Okocha wins BBC award
09 Jan 04 |  African
Mboma wins African award
02 Dec 00 |  Football

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Telegraph Chelsea defender John Terry pleads, 'I'll go anywhere to solve nerve problem' - 2 hrs ago
Modern Ghana Ayew, Gyan shortlisted for BBC award - 5 hrs ago
Mail Online UK Carlo Ancelotti set for winter Blues as Chelsea's problems mount up - 10 hrs ago ENGLAND SET FOR GHANA FRIENDLY - 11 hrs ago Premier Sketch: Dancing, drunks and pie & chips - 17 hrs ago


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.