BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 12 July 2007, 11:52 GMT 12:52 UK
Stars named for Mandela match
Pele is one of 50 stars who will honour Nelson Mandela's birthday
The line-ups for the Africa XI and Rest of the World XI teams that will play in the "90 Minutes for Mandela" match at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town on 18 July have been named.

The game, which will serve as a tribute to the South African statesman as well as coinciding with his 89th birthday, will assemble winners of all of the major titles in world football.

Football legends past and present including Brazil's Pelé, three-time African player of the year Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon) and former European Player of the Year Ruud Gullit (Netherlands) will be taking part in the celebrations and the match itself.

African greats that will be rolling back the years and lacing up their boots again include Ghana's Abedi Pele, Liberia's former World Football Player of Year George Weah, Nigeria's current assistant coach Austin Eguavoen and Uganda's David Obua.

Nelson Mandela with Fifa president Sepp Blatter
Nelson Mandela with Fifa president Sepp Blatter

More than 50 players have confirmed their participation in the "90 Minutes for Mandela" game.

Roy Hodgson and Claude Le Roy will coach the Rest of the World side and while Jean Manga and Jomo Sono will lead the Africa XI.

Proceeds of the match will go to programs aimed at helping young South Africans and will be coordinated with the Nelson Mandela Foundation.

Fifa organized a similar all-star match in 1999 to honor Mandela when he stepped down as South African president.

Africa XI

Coaches: Jean Manga (CMR) Jomo Sono (RSA)

Goalkeepers: Badou Zaki (MOR) Jacques Songo'o (CMR)

Defenders: Austin Eguavoen (NGA) Mark Fish (RSA) Stephen Keshi (NGA) Doctor Khumalo (RSA) David Obua (UGA) Stephen Tataw (CMR) Okechukwu Uche (NGA)

Midfielders/Attackers: Abedi Pele (GHA) Daniel Amokachi (NGA) Kalusha Bwalya (ZAM) Samuel Eto'o (CMR) Hossam Hassan (EGY) Lomana LuaLua (DRC) Rabah Madjer (ALG) Pedro Mantorras (ANG) Phil Masinga (RSA) François Oman Biyik (CMR) Dennis Oliech (KEN) Samson Siasia (NGA) George Weah (LBR)

Team colours: White/White/White

Rest of the World XI

Coaches: Roy Hodgson (ENG) (current Finland coach) Claude Le Roy (FRA) (current Ghana coach)

Goalkeeper: Andoni Zubizaretta (ESP)

Defenders: Zoubaier Baya (TUN) Christian Karembeu (FRA) Gary Mabbutt (ENG) Patrick M'Boma (CMR) Santos Muntubile (DRC) Lucas Radebe (RSA)

Midfielders/Attackers: Ali Daei (IRN) Emilio Butragueno (ESP) Stéphane Chapuisat (SUI) Youssouf Fofana (FRA/CIV) Julen Guerrero (ESP) Ruud Gullit (NED) Joo Sung Kim (KOR) Leonardo Nascimento de Araujo (BRA) Pele (BRA) Fernando Redondo (ARG) Wynton Rufer (NZL) Iván Zamorano (CHI)

Team colours: Black/Black/Black

Fifa honours inmate footballers
05 Jul 07 |  African


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us