BBC Sport guernsey


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:52 GMT, Friday, 18 December 2009

Commission awards shortlist out

Watson, Merrien, Ponte and Frith
The award goes to the outstanding performer of the year

The Guernsey Sports Commission has released its shortlist of nominations for its biggest award of 2009.

There are four people being put forward for the main prize - the Guernsey Sports Commission Trophy for the outstanding performer of the year.

They are cricketer Jeremy Frith, bowls world title holder Alison Merrien, golf champion Aimee Ponte and US Junior Open winner Heather Watson.

The winner will be decided by a panel of commission staff and island media.

The shortlist

All-rounder Frith was named man of the tournament in both the World Cricket League Division Seven tournament in Guernsey and Division Six in Singapore and World Cricket League Division Six tournament in Singapore as Guernsey finished third.

Previous Winners
2008 - Alison Merrien
2007 - Andy Priaulx
2006 - Andy Priaulx
2005 - Andy Priaulx
2004 - Andy Priaulx

Merrien, who won the award in 2008, won the World Indoor Bowls Championships women's singles title and reached world number one in the rankings. She won a third consecutive British Isles Indoor Bowls Championship and just lost the World Indoor Bowls Tour Championships final to Wycombe's Debbie Stavrou.

Ponte became the island's ladies golf champion aged 13, and followed it up by securing the island junior title.

Watson won the US Junior Open, was named Aegon Junior Player of the Year, has announced she is preparing to go professional in the new year and missed out to Tom Daley in the battle for the 2009 Young Sports Personality of the Year title.

The Guernsey Sporting Achievement Awards Evening for 2009 is due to take place on 20 January and includes awards for teams, individuals, events and development within sport.

Print Sponsor

see also
Merrien gets island's top award
15 Jan 09 |  Sport Homepage
Garland to go into Hall of Fame
13 Jan 09 |  Athletics
Bowler Merrien joins Hall of Fame
17 Oct 08 |  Bowls

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.