BBC Sport cricket

Related BBC sites

How runs are scored

How runs are scored

The fielding team have all 11 players on the field at the same time but there are only ever two batsmen.

Nine members of the fielding team can be positioned around the field depending on where the captain wants them - within certain guidelines.

The other two members of the team are the wicketkeeper and the bowler.

The bowler delivers the ball, overarm, at one of the batsmen who will try and hit the ball to score runs.

One run is scored each time the batsmen cross and reach the set of stumps at the other end of the pitch.

Four runs can be scored if the ball reaches the perimeter of the field or six runs if crosses the perimeter without bouncing.

Although all 11 players have the chance to bat, the team are "all out" when 10 wickets have fallen as the "not out" batsman is left without a team-mate at the other end of the wicket.

A team does not have to be all out for an innings to close.

If a captain feels their team has scored enough runs, they can bring the innings to a close by making a "declaration".

Teams also have a "12th man" who can act as a substitute fielder if one of the starting 11 are injured, but cannot bat or bowl.


see also
The aim of cricket
06 Sep 05 |  Laws and Equipment
The difference between Test and limited-overs cricket
06 Sep 05 |  Laws and Equipment
The field of play
06 Sep 05 |  Laws and Equipment
LBW explained
08 Nov 06 |  Laws and Equipment
Understanding the no-ball law
29 Aug 10 |  Laws and Equipment
When is a 'wide ball' called?
06 Sep 05 |  Laws and Equipment
Understanding byes and leg byes
06 Sep 05 |  Laws and Equipment

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites