BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:56 GMT, Wednesday, 11 March 2009

Sangakkara to captain Sri Lanka

Kumar Sangakkara
Sangakkara has been Sri Lanka's vice-captain since 2006

Kumar Sangakkara has been named as Sri Lanka's new captain.

The 31-year-old left-handed batsman and wicketkeeper, who played for Warwickshire in 2007, made his Test debut against South Africa in 2000.

Sangakkara had been vice-captain since 2006 and was long seen as the heir apparent of Mahela Jayawardene.

Jayawardene stepped down as captain after the tour of Pakistan, which was abandoned when the Sri Lanka team bus was attacked in Lahore on 3 March.

Off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan has been appointed as Sangakkara's deputy.


Sangakkara's first tournament in charge will be the ICC World Twenty20 in England from 12 to 21 June, for which the Sri Lanka selectors have named a provisional 25-man squad.

The final 15 will be picked after an inter-provincial Twenty20 tournament that is to be held between 25 March and 5 April.

"I will be stressing to the players the individual responsibility they must take on to improve and develop their games," said Sangakkara, who was among the players injured in the Lahore attack and has had to have shrapnel removed from his arm.

"We need to make full use of the quality facilities and support staff we are fortunate enough have around us to become better players and a stronger team."

He endorsed the appointment of Muralitharan as his deputy, adding: "Murali's inspirational leadership and vast experience, coupled with his great integrity and complete trustworthiness, made him the ideal choice."

Sri Lanka World Twenty20 squad (provisional): Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan (vice-captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Kapugedera, Jehan Mubarak, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Chaminda Vaas, Ajantha Mendis, Kaushal Weeraratne, Upul Tharanga, Isuru Udana, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Chintaka Jayasinghe, Nuwan Zoysa, Gihan Rupasinghe, Thilina Kandamby, Malinga Bandara, Dilhara Fernando.

Print Sponsor

see also
Sri Lankans recover after attacks
05 Mar 09 |  Sri Lanka
Hunt for Lahore cricket attackers
03 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Gunmen shoot Sri Lanka cricketers
03 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Sri Lanka cricketers arrive home
04 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Jayawardene to quit captaincy job
11 Feb 09 |  Sri Lanka

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites