BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:20 GMT, Monday, 19 April 2010 21:20 UK

Shahid Afridi named Pakistan World Twenty20 captain

Shahid Afridi (right) talking to the umpires in Perth
Afridi had to explain his ball tampering actions in Perth to the umpires

All-rounder Shahid Afridi will captain Pakistan at this month's World Twenty20 tournament despite having his conduct monitored for disciplinary violations.

Afridi was fined £25,000 and banned for two Twenty20 games in January after biting the ball while leading Pakistan in a one-day game against Australia.

Umar Akmal and Kamran Akmal are also in the 15-man squad but, like Afridi, are on six-month probationary periods.

The Twenty20 event in the West Indies runs from 30 April to 16 May.

In 2005, Afridi was banned for one Test and two one-day internationals for deliberately scuffing up the wicket with his spikes in a match against England in Faisalabad.

Shoaib Malik and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan were not considered for selection after getting one-year bans and heavy fines.

Ex-captains Mohammad Yousuf and Younus Khan have been banned indefinitely from representing their country.


New chief selector Mohsin Khan said the selection of the team's leader "is the domain of the PCB [Pakistan Cricket Board] chairman [Ijaz Butt]."

Former opening batsman Khan added he backed the disciplinary measures as "a positive step".

"The problems of indiscipline and infighting were affecting the team like cancer and I back all the decisions, not as chief selector, not as a former player but as a Pakistani," stated Khan.

Opening batsman Mohammad Hafeez and middle order batsman Misbah-ul-Haq have been recalled while all-rounder Hammad Azam, 18, was included after his performance in the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand.

Hafeez returns to international cricket after playing his last Twenty20 game against India in the inaugural tournament in South Africa three years ago.

Misbah has not appeared in a Twenty20 international since playing against Sri Lanka in August 2009.

Left-arm spinner Abdul Rehman and seamer Mohammad Sami, meanwhile, have received late call-ups to the squad with Umar Gul and Yasir Arafat ruled out through injury.

Mohammad Aamer and Abdul Razzaq complete the bowling attack.

Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the World Twenty20 final in England last year. Pakistan are in Group A of this year's event along with Australia and Bangladesh.

Pakistan squad for World Twenty20:

Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt, Mohammad Hafeez, Khalid Latif, Misbah-ul-Haq, Fawad Alam, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Yasir Arafat, Hammad Azam, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Sami, Abdul Rehman.

Print Sponsor

see also
Pakistan to ban Yousuf & Younus
10 Mar 10 |  Pakistan
Waqar aims to revitalise Pakistan
03 Mar 10 |  Pakistan
Mohsin Khan accepts Pakistan role
02 Mar 10 |  Pakistan
ICC World Twenty20 2010 squads
26 Mar 10 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.