BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:47 GMT, Tuesday, 20 April 2010 17:47 UK

Uncapped Michael Lumb makes England performance squad

Michael Lumb in action for England Lions
Lumb is part of the England squad for the upcoming World Twenty20

Hampshire's Michael Lumb is the only uncapped player in a 27-man performance squad unveiled by England on Tuesday.

The 11 players already on 12-month central contracts and the seven on incremental deals are all included.

Craig Kieswetter, Steven Finn and Ajmal Shazad, who all shone during the winter, also made the cut.

"We can name up to 30 players but we've decided to keep three places vacant to give ourselves greater flexibility," said national selector Geoff Miller.

"We will reserve the right to add further players to the squad if their performances in domestic cricket merit it.

"We were delighted with the progress made by several younger players such as Craig Kieswetter, Steven Finn and Ajmal Shazad over the winter with either the England team or the England Lions squad - and their selections in the EPS reflect this.

"James Tredwell and Michael Carberry have previously experienced the England set-up after making an impact at international level during the winter, and similarly Joe Denly and Liam Plunkett firmly remain in our plans over the course of the summer.

"From a limited-overs perspective, Michael Lumb and Michael Yardy have already been included in England's ICC World T20 squad for the forthcoming tournament in the Caribbean."

Lumb, 30, enjoyed an impressive 2009 season, scoring 442 runs in 11 domestic Twenty20 matches.

England Performance Squad:
James Anderson (Lancashire) *
Ian Bell (Warwickshire) *
Ravi Bopara (Essex) +
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire) +
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) *
Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham) *
Alastair Cook (Essex) *
Joe Denly (Kent)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) +
Graham Onions (Durham) *
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire) *
Liam Plunkett (Durham)
Matthew Prior (Sussex) *
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) +
Owais Shah (Middlesex) +
Ajmal Shazad (Yorkshire)
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) *
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire) *
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire) *
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathon Trott (Warwickshire) +
Luke Wright (Sussex) +
Michael Yardy (Sussex)

* denotes players on 12-month ECB central contracts.

+ denotes players on ECB increment contracts.

Print Sponsor

see also
England four earn Wisden accolade
14 Apr 10 |  Cricket
Lumb makes England Twenty20 squad
31 Mar 10 |  England
England confirm T20 travel plans
21 Apr 10 |  England
England face S Africa T20 warm-up
15 Apr 10 |  Cricket
ICC World Twenty20 2010
17 May 10 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.