BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 15 June, 2003, 16:53 GMT 17:53 UK
Ebrahim restores pride
Tour match, Eglinton: Zimbabwe 197-2 (40.1 overs) beat Ireland 196 all out by 8 wickets

Dion Ebrahim
Ebrahim's batting was good news for the tourists
Batsman Dion Ebrahim saved face for Zimbabwe with a match-winning innings of 81 not out.

The tourists cruised home with almost 10 overs to spare to atone for Friday's embarrassing 10-wicket defeat in Belfast.

They went into the game with a full strength line-up, having originally planned to make only one change, but Ireland again showed plenty of skill and determination.

Having been reduced to 39-5, the home side still posted a respectable total thanks to Peter Gillespie's 56, which included a six and five fours.

Skipper Jason Molins followed his unbeaten 107 in the first game with a third ball duck as he became the first of three victims for Zimbabwe captain Heath Streak (3-29).

New ball partner Andy Blignaut claimed two victims and it was not until Gillespie and Dominick Joyce came together at the fall of the fifth wicket that Ireland began to come to terms with their opponents.

Joyce was eventually dismissed by Doug Hondo for 29, but Gillespie found another dependable ally in Paul Mooney, who twice cleared the boundary in his 31.

They both departed in quick succession and Hondo took a return catch from Gary Neely to end the innings and return figures of 3-53.

Ireland needed early wickets to create some anxiety in the Zimbabwe dressing room but Ebrahim and Doug Marillier batted sensibly to launch the reply with a partnership of 52.

Marillier was out for 23 in spinner Andrew White's first over but Stuart Carlisle helped add another 82 before he was caught and bowled by Mooney for 49.

Zimbabwe's senior batsman, Grant Flower, kept Ebrahim company over the closing overs for an unbeaten 31 as they completed their first win since beating a British Universities XI early last month.

Ireland: J A M Molins (Capt), J P Bray, A C Botha, N J O'Brien (Wkt), P G Gillespie, W K McCallan, D Joyce, A R White, P J K Mooney, C M Armstrong, G J Neely.

Zimbabwe: H H Streak (Capt), T Taibu (Wkt), D D Ebrahim, D A Marillier, G W Flower, S V Carlisle, S Matsikenyeri, A M Blignaut, G B Brent, R W Price, D T Hondo.

Links to more Eng v Zim 2003 stories


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing
Athletics | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings | Question of Sport | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport