BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:34 GMT, Monday, 21 September 2009 20:34 UK

ICC Champions Trophy 2009: South Africa beckons

South Africa captain Graeme Smith with the ICC Champions Trophy

In the three years since the last ICC Champions Trophy, international cricket has changed irrevocably.

The successful first ICC World Twenty20, in South Africa in 2007, inspired the multi-million-dollar Indian Premier League and the worldwide proliferation of Twenty20.

Meanwhile, increasing security fears in Pakistan caused South Africa to boycott the 2008 Champions Trophy - before it was postponed by the ICC two days later and moved to South Africa in March 2009.

The next Champions Trophy, scheduled for 2010 in the West Indies, was shortened to become another World Twenty20 - while 50-over cricket has been dropped from the English domestic season for 2010.

And with many players and commentators calling for the international schedule to be cut, it remains to be seen whether this Champions Trophy is the last of its kind.

Gallery compiled by Mark Mitchener

see also
ICC Champions Trophy 2009
05 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Champions Trophy team guide
20 Sep 09 |  Cricket

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites