BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 4 November 2006, 08:14 GMT
Ponting heads Aussie awards sweep
Ricky Ponting with the overall and Test player of the year awards
Ponting has been in phenomenal form in the past year
Australia captain Ricky Ponting was named world cricket's player of the year at an awards ceremony in Mumbai.

Ponting beat England's Andrew Flintoff, compatriot Mike Hussey, Sri Lanka star Muttiah Muralitharan and Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf to win the top prize.

He also won Test player of the year, while Hussey was named the best player in limited-overs internationals.

Aussies dominated overall, with Karen Rolton winning the inaugural women's award and Simon Taufel the best umpire.

It was the third year running he had won the award.

Ponting was one of five Australians in the Test team of the year, while four made it into the one-day team.

"It has been a satisfying year personally and also for the rest of the team," said Ponting, who led the team to 11 Test victories out of 12 after Australia relinquished the Ashes last September for the first time since 1989.

I really enjoy coming in when the team is in a bit of trouble and trying to rescue the situation

Mike Hussey

"For me to be a part of that success has been great. To see Mike (Hussey) win an award and so many other Australians to be nominated indicates that the team is doing well at the moment. It's a great night for Australian cricket.

"It's a great thrill to be nominated, and walking away with two awards is a great shock," Ponting said after receiving the trophy from Sachin Tendulkar.

"To captain Australia is something I love and never take for granted. We had to show a lot of character immediately after the Ashes.

"We have set a new standard for ourselves, we've worked hard and it's paying off for us at the moment.

"I think we learned a lot from that Ashes series and we are a better team for that so I think we will be a very difficult side to beat this summer."

The Tasmanian scored just under 1,800 runs in the awards qualification period - 1 August 2005 to 8 August 2006 - at an average of almost 70, hitting nine hundreds in 16 appearances.


Hussey amassed 769 runs in 21 ODI innings during the same timespan at an impressive average of 64.08.

"Being a little older when I broke through to the team I definitely haven't taken anything for granted," he explained. "I play each game as if it's my last.

"I really enjoy coming in when the team is in a bit of trouble and trying to rescue the situation, batting with the lower order."


Player of the Year
Michael Hussey (Australia)
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia) - winner
Mohammed Yousuf (Pakistan)

Test Player of the Year
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia) - winner
Shane Warne (Australia)
Mohammed Yousuf (Pakistan)

ODI Player of the Year
Michael Hussey (Australia) - winner
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Yuvraj Singh (India)

Women's Player of the Year
Karen Rolton (Australia) - winner
Anjum Chopra (India)
Katherine Brunt (England)

Emerging Player of the Year
Alistair Cook (England)
Mohammed Asif (Pakistan)
Ian Bell (England) - winner
Monty Panesar (England)

Captain of the Year
Rahul Dravid (India)
Michael Vaughan (England)
Ricky Ponting (Australia)
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) - winner

Spirit of Cricket Award
England - winner
New Zealand
Sri Lanka

Umpire of the Year
Aleem Dar
Rudi Koertzen
Simon Taufel - winner

World Test team of the year
Matthew Hayden (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Rahul Dravid (India, captain), Mohammed Yousuf (Pakistan), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Andrew Flintoff (England), Shane Warne (Australia), Makhaya Ntini (South Africa), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Glenn McGrath (Australia). 12th man: Brett Lee (Australia)

World ODI team of the year
Adam Gilchrist (Australia), Mahendra Dhoni (India), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka, captain), Yuvraj Singh (India), Michael Hussey (Australia), Andrew Flintoff (England), Irfan Pathan (India), Brett Lee (Australia), Shane Bond (New Zealand), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka). 12th man: Andrew Symonds (Australia).

Rolton collects inaugural award
03 Nov 06 |  Women's cricket


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us