BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 17 April, 2005, 10:40 GMT 11:40 UK
Pakistan wrap up series triumph
One-day international, Delhi: Pakistan 303-8 (50 overs) beat India 144 (37 overs) by 159 runs
Pakistan win series 4-2

We believed in ourselves - that's the main thing
Pakistan rounded off their tour to India in style with a comfortable 159-run victory in Delhi.

It gave them a 4-2 win in the one-day series, a magnificent effort after losing the first two matches.

Shoaib Malik (72), Inzamam-ul-Haq (68) and Yousuf Youhana (50) were the main scorers in a total of 303-8.

India's innings was interrupted for 15 minutes when bottles were thrown onto the outfield with the score 94-6 and they were eventually all out for 144.

It was their heaviest one-day defeat by their arch-rivals, surpassing a 143-run loss in Jaipur in 1999.

The first international match for three years at the rebuilt Feroz Shah Kotla stadium was a high profile affair.

India's Prime Minister Manoman Singh and Congress Party leader Sonia Gandhi were in attendance for part of the day, along with visiting Pakistan president Pervez Musharraf.

The game began just as Friday's encounter at Kanpur had ended with Shahid Afridi taking the attack to India's bowlers.

After failing to score off the first ball he faced, Afridi followed that with 4-4-4-6-4 from the next five as Ashish Nehra's opening over cost India 22.

The early dismissal of Salman Butt, caught at slip by Virender Sehwag off Zaheer Khan for three, failed to dent Pakistan's confidence and India could not afford a let-off for Shoaib Malik.

He was dropped at square leg by Dinesh Mongia on 19 and went on to top score with 72, an innings which featured eight boundaries.

Afridi was caught behind for 44 in the 10th over, but Yousuf Youhana helped Malik add 85 for the third wicket before he was run out for 50 after attempting a quick single to Sachin Tendulkar.

Malik followed when he was bowled by a reverse swinging delivery from Ajit Agarkar, who had been recalled in place of Lakshmipathy Balaji, but skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq and Younis Khan kept things ticking over with a stand of 91.

Pakistan added 91 in the final 10 overs of their innings, but lost four wickets in the process - two of them, Younis (40) and Abdul Razzaq, off successive deliveries from Nehra.

Inzamam became Agarkar's third victim when he was adjudged caught behind for 68, although he looked unlucky with TV replays suggesting a sizeable gap between his bat and the ball.

Sehwag looked out of sorts at the start of India's reply despite a let-off and after being caught off a no-ball in the opening over, he departed for 21 when he deflected a ball from Naved-ul-Hasan to slip.

Pakistan's players leave the field
The organisers were let down by a section of the crowd

Sachin Tendulkar followed when he was bowled through the gate by Rao Iftikhar for nine and when skipper Rahul Dravid was run out by Youhana's throw from mid-on for 19, the crowd sensed there was no way back.

Youhana also ran out Yuvraj Singh after a mix-up with Mahendra Dhoni and later took a catch at deep mid-wicket to dismiss Agarkar for 16.

Off-spinner Arshad Khan bowled his full 10-over allocation for figures of 3-33 either side of the hold-up, which occurred after Mohammad Kaif had been lbw to Razzaq for four.

Mongia edged Arshad to slip immediately after the re-start and the catch was taken by Younis, who led the Pakistan team capably in Inzamam's absence because of a sore back.

India's resistance ended with 13 overs remaining as Nehra edged Afridi to slip, leaving Harbhajan unbeaten on 20.

India: V Sehwag, S Tendulkar, MS Dhoni (wkt), R Dravid (capt), Y Singh, M Kaif, D Mongia, A Agarkar, H Singh, Z Khan, A Nehra.

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Iftikhar Anjum, Naved-ul-Hasan, Arshad Khan.

Report: Deepak Patel for BBC Sport


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport