BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 21 July, 2004, 15:03 GMT 16:03 UK
Sri Lanka thrash Pakistan
Asia Cup, Colombo (Premasada):
Sri Lanka 123-3 (32 overs) beat Pakistan 122 all out (39.5 overs) by seven wickets

Nuwan Zoysa
Zoysa put Pakistan on the back foot early on with two strikes

Hosts Sri Lanka made it three wins out of three at the Asia Cup as they demolished Pakistan by seven wickets in a day-night game in Colombo.

Nuwan Zoysa took 3-29 as Pakistan were skittled for 122 and Sri Lanka knocked off the runs with 18 overs to spare.

It was Pakistan's lowest one-day total against Sri Lanka, and three run outs contributed to their downfall.

Abdul Razzaq was the only Pakistan player to do himself justice, top scoring with 43 and later taking 2-21.

They made two changes to the team which played Hong Kong on Sunday, bringing in Yasir Hameed and Shoaib Akhtar for Imran Farhat and Rana Naveed-ul-Hasan.

Sri Lanka were boosted by the return of former skipper and opener Sanath Jayasuriya after a side strain.

Zoysa ensured Pakistan had no time to settle by removing Imran Nazir (14) and Shoaib Malik (four).

Muttiah Muralitharan then bowled skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq off the inside edge before Yousuf Youhana was run out for nought by a reflex throw from TM Dilshan at silly point.

Younis Khan followed for a single, reducing Pakistan to 52-5, when he was caught off Farveez Maharoof.

Bob Woolmer
All the dismissals except for Mohammad Sami were all self inflicted
Coach Bob Woolmer

Opener Hameed's 22 off 59 balls was ended by another run out after Razzaq called him recklessly for a single, and Zoysa returned to the attack to have Moin Khan caught behind for three.

Pakistan's hopes of even a moderate total faded when Razzaq fell to Maharoof after hitting four of the seven boundaries in the innings.

They needed early wickets when Sri Lanka began their reply but although Jayasuriya and Avishka Gunawardene were less than convincing, Pakistan failed to take chances which came their way.

Both batsmen played and missed as Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami strove for wickets with the new ball and Gunawardene was dropped on eight and 18.

A stand of 51 in 11 overs laid the platform for victory before Sami removed Jayasuriya for 20, with the help of a slip catch by Younis.

Razzaq came on as second change and dismissed Marvan Atapattu (19) and Gunawardene (26) in successive overs.

But Sri Lanka soon restored order as Mahela Jayawardene cut and pulled Shoaib for two boundaries in the same over.

He was left unbeaten on 19 when Kumar Sangakkara (14) pushed the winning single to square leg.

Pakistan: Yasir Hameed, Imran Farhat, Shoaib Malik, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Moin Khan, Danish Kaneria, Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed, Naved-ul-Hasan, Imran Nazir.

Sri Lanka: WS Jayantha, DA Gunawardene, MS Atapattu, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, UDU Chandana, MF Maharoof, WPUJC Vaas, DNT Zoysa, M Muralitharan, ST Jayasuriya, LS Malinga, SHT Kandamby.

Umpires: BF Bowden, PD Parker.


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport