BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 7 May, 2004, 15:24 GMT 16:24 UK
Sri Lanka openers impress
First Test, Harare, day two (stumps): Sri Lanka 456-7 v Zimbabwe 199

Jayasuriya collides with Matsikenyeri
Jayasuriya collides with Matsikenyeri on his way to 157
Openers Sanath Jayasuriya and Marvan Atapattu both hit centuries as Sri Lanka took an emphatic lead of 257 over Zimbabwe in the first Test.

Jayasuriya hit 157 at quicker than a run a ball, while new captain Atapattu crafted a patient 170.

And by the end of day two the tourists were 456-7, with Chaminda Vaas (28) and Farveez Maharoof (16) at the crease.

The home side are without 15 leading players, including Heath Streak, who are in dispute with the national board.

Resuming on 67-0, after bowling Zimbabwe out for 199 on day one, the tourists maintained their pace through the first two sessions, before losing five wickets late on.

Opening bowlers Doug Hondo and debutant Tinashe Panyangara shouldered the bulk of the work and were the most reliable.

But their back-up, including the experienced Mluleki Nkala, who conceded 21 runs from three overs, was found wanting.

Hondo shows his frustration
Hondo shows his frustration as Atapattu moves towards 170
Jayasuriya took just 90 balls to reach his 12th Test century, with 13 fours and two sixes.

It took young captain Tatenda Taibu to forsake the wicket-keeper's gloves to make the breakthrough, when Jayasuriya was caught at gully off his medium-pace bowling.

The opening stand of 281 was 54 short of the national record, also shared by Jayasuriya and Atapattu against Pakistan four years ago.

Taibu also took a catch in the field to dismiss Sangakkara off Stuart Matsikenyeri for the part-time off-spinner's first Test wicket.

Debutant Panyangara gave the hosts the only real reason to celebrate as his away-swing accounted for two wickets in a single over.

Thilan Samaraweera was caught behind by Taibu, who had relieved Alester Maregwede behind the stumps after bowling eight overs, and Prasanna Jayawardene was bowled.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was caught at midwicket off Blessing Mahwire six overs later.

But the eighth wicket pair dug in to add an unbroken 42 by the close, confirming expectations of a three-day victory.

Zimbabwe: T Taibu (captain), D Ebrahim, B Taylor, M Nkala, B Mahwire, D Hondo, P Utseya, T Panyangara, A Maregwede, S Matsikenyeri, E Chigumbura.

Sri Lanka: MS Atapattu (capt), ST Jayasuriya, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, TT Samaraweera, HAPW Jayawardene (wkt), WPUJC Vaas, DNT Zoysa, M Muralitharan, M F Maharoof.

Murali equals record
06 May 04  |  Cricket

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport