BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 22 August, 2004, 08:13 GMT 09:13 UK
Zoysa stars in Sri Lanka win
Second ODI, Colombo: Sri Lanka 231-9 beat South Africa 176 by 37 runs

Zoysa's 5-26 was his best against South Africa

Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 37 runs in the second one-day international in Colombo on Sunday.

Sri Lanka made 213-9 in their 50 overs and bowled South Africa out for 176 to take a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

At 86-5, the hosts looked in trouble but Kumar Sangakkara (63) and Upul Chandana (61 not out) put on a record 93 for the sixth wicket.

In reply, Shaun Pollock hit 54 but Nuwan Zoysa took 5-26 to seal victory.

Sri Lanka won the toss and had Sangakkara and Chandana to thank for posting a competitive target.

Chandana, who hit a patient 61 off 91 balls, played despite being the victim of a road rage attack a day earlier.

After Sangakkara departed it triggered a lower order collapse in the final overs with Jacques Kallis picking up two late wickets on his way to figures of 3-19 off six overs.

In reply, South Africa got off to an awful start when Herschelle Gibbs was bowled by Zoysa for seven and they slumped to 94-7.

We had a plan going onto the field and that worked
Marvan Atapattu
Veterans Pollock and Lance Klusener then put on 61 for the eighth wicket but Tillakaratne Dilshan polished off the lower order, finishing with figures of 4-52, his best performance in one-day internationals.

A delighted Sri Lanka Marvan Atapattu said afterwards: "We are not doing too badly at the moment and I hope that will continue.

"We had a plan going onto the field and that worked. To get five wickets on a pitch like that was extra special."

South Africa captain Graeme Smith said his side should have got the target.

He said: "We were superb in the field today and bowled well at the death and 213 was a score that we should have got."

Sri Lanka: M Atapattu (Capt), M Jayawardene, S Jayasuriya, K Sangakkara (Wkt), T Dilshan, A Gunawardene, R Herath, C Vaas, U Chandana, N Zoysa, K Lokuarachchi.

South Africa: G Smith (Capt), M Boucher (Wkt), H Gibbs, J Kallis, J Rudolph, L Klusener, S Pollock, N Boje, A Dawson, JP Duminy, M Ntini.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport