BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 9 March, 2004, 11:37 GMT
Dilshan dominates Aussies
First Test, Galle, day two (stumps)
Australia 220; Sri Lanka 352-6

T Dilshan
We didn't allow their spinners to pitch the ball in the right place
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Tillakaratne Dilshan's third Test century ushered Sri Lanka to 352-6, a 132-run lead over Australia in Galle.

Dilshan hit 12 fours and a six though he was dropped once in the nineties before finally departing to the hard-working Michael Kasprowicz for 104.

Australia, bowled out cheaply on the first day, struggled to take regular wickets on spin-friendly wicket.

Mahela Jayawardene hit 68 and Marvan Atapattu made a patient 47 while Shane Warne took 2-103 in 32 overs.

The hosts began the day 81-1 and Kumar Sangakkara added just six runs to his overnight score of 16 before being caught and bowled on the drive by veteran seam bowler Kasprowicz.

When Atapattu then chopped a delivery from Gillespie onto his stumps, Australia were back in the hunt with the score 125-3.

But Jayawardene and Dilshan successfully repelled Warne and the other spinners, Andrew Symonds and Stuart MacGill.

Shane Warne

Their stand was worth 73 when Jayawardene finally fell to the off-spin of Symonds, hitting a rash stroke to point where Matthew Hayden claimed the catch.

Captain Hashan Tillakaratne then contributed 33 in a stand worth 100 with Dilshan, who upped the tempo by playing some big shots against the spinners.

The 27-year-old right-hander hit Warne for a four and a six off consecutive deliveries to move to 89 before finally coming unstuck against the second new ball.

Kasprowicz was the man to suffer when Dilshan was dropped by Warne in the slips on 96 but the mistake cost just eight runs as he failed to get hold off a pull shot off the same bowler to be spectacularly caught by Justin Langer at mid-off.

Warne's only wicket during the course of the day came when he had Tillakaratne lbw from a ball that spun alarmingly out of the rough.

He bowled a final spell just before stumps, but both Thilan Samaraweera and Upul Chandana were able to hit him for boundaries as they settled into a handy little partnership already worth 29.

Sri Lanka: Hashan Tillakaratne (captain), Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Muthiah Muralitharan, Kumar Dharmasena and Upul Chandana.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Jason Gillespie, Matthew Hayden, Michael Kasprowicz, Justin Langer, Darren Lehmann, Stuart MacGill, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Shane Warne.

Umpires: David Shepherd (England), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa).

TV Umpire: Gamini Silva (Sri Lanka).

Match Referee: Chris Broad (England)

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport