BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 18 January, 2004, 11:32 GMT
India dispatch Aussies
VB Series, match five, Brisbane: Australia 284 all out (49.5 overs) lost to India 303-4 (50 overs) by 19 runs

Laxman celebrates his century with Rohan Gavaskar
Australia P4 W3 L1 NR0 BP3 Pts 18 RR 1.23
India P3 W2 L1 NR0 BP2
Pts 12 RR 0.49
Zimbabwe P3 W0 L3 NR0 BP0 Pts 0 RR -2.13
VVS Laxman's unbeaten 103 led India to the highest ever score at the Gabba as Australia were sunk by 19 runs.

Chasing 304, Australia were given a fighting chance by Matthew Hayden's first home century but ran out of steam and were dismissed in the last over.

Lakshmipathy Balaji (4-48) and Irfan Pathan (3-64) kept things tight at the death with renowned finisher Michael Bevan (41 not out) on the prowl.

Brett Lee proved very expensive in India's 303-4, returning 83-1.

India's score improved on the 300-5 that Australia made against Pakistan in 1989-90.

Laxman was the mainstay of the innings after skipper Sourav Ganguly won the toss and elected to bat first.

He reached his third one-day century, and first on foreign soil, off the final ball after Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid had hit 84 and 74 respectively.

It later transpired Tendulkar had twisted his ankle in the second over, putting him in doubt for Tuesday's match against Zimbabwe at the same ground.

Australia wasted a simple chance when Damien Martyn dropped Ganguly, opening in place of the injured Virender Sehwag, at backward point off the third ball.

But the skipper failed to capitalise, hitting a return catch to Brad Williams in the eighth over after making 18.

We were just sticking to our game plan of keeping wickets in hand. In the end we had to go for everything
VVS Laxman

Tendulkar and Laxman then joined forces for a second-wicket stand of 110 off 125 balls.

Tendulkar, hampered by a leg injury, appeared set for his 37th century, but his innings came to a halt when he was caught and bowled by Andrew Symonds.

Dravid then smashed 74 from 64 balls before holing out attempting a third straight boundary off Ian Harvey.

Australia raced to 46 in the sixth over of their reply, but India hit back to reduce them to 94-3 and then 141-4 after 23 overs.

Pathan removed Adam Gilchrist for 21 before Balaji removed Ricky Ponting and Damien Martyn (both caught) cheaply.

Hayden, who passed 50 off 38 balls, and Symonds added 47 for the fourth wicket before the latter fell to a sharp return catch in debutant Rohan Gavaskar's first over.

Hayden reached his century - his first in 25 innings in his home country - off 98 balls and was given a life when Balaji dropped him in the deep and conceded a boundary.

But two balls later Pathan got his man, Hayden edging behind for 109 after striking 12 boundaries from 107 balls faced.

Michael Clarke then edged the paceman behind for a well-crafted 42, and Ian Harvey and Brett Lee fell cheaply to leave Australia on 266-8 with four overs left.

Balaji was pivotal in keeping Australia at bay, making it hard for Bevan to score and taking the wickets of Lee and Jason Gillespie to end Australia's run of 11 straight wins over India at home.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Michael Bevan, Ian Harvey, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Brad Williams.

India: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Rohan Gavaskar, Yuvraj Singh, Hemang Badani, Irfan Pathan, Anil Kumble, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Ashish Nehra.

Umpires: S A Bucknor and P D Parker

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport