BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 14 January, 2004, 07:57 GMT
India see off Zimbabwe
VB Series, match three, Hobart: India 211-3 beat Zimbabwe 208-6 by seven wickets

Verender Sehwag top scored for India with 90 runs
Australia P2 W2 L0 NR0 BP1 Pts11 RR1.17
India P2 W1 L1 NR0 BP2 Pts7 RR 0.53
Zimbabwe P2 W0 L2 NR0 BP0 RR-1.63

Virender Sehwag's aggressive innings of 90 led India to a comfortable one-day win over Zimbabwe in Hobart.

Sehwag, who had taken two wickets as Zimbabwe were restricted to 208-6 in their 50 overs, hit five sixes before being caught off spinner Ray Price.

He put on 129 with Sachin Tendulkar (44) before Sourav Ganguly (32 not out) saw them home with 12.2 overs to spare.

It was India's first victory of the triangular competition, but Australia continue to head the points table.

Zimbabwe were bowled out for 126 in their opening game against Australia and their top order again failed to rise to the occasion after Heath Streak won the toss and chose to bat first.

Despite a good batting track, Stuart Carlisle was the only batsman in the top six to reach 20, eventually falling lbw to part-time spinner Sehwag for 36.

Indian seamers Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan and Lakshmipathy Balaji all bowled tidily and teenager Pathan picked up the wicket of Stuart Matsikenyeri for nine when he gave a catch to Hemnag Badani at cover.

Badani, back in the side in place of Sanjay Bangar, also made an impact with the ball as he bowled Tataneda Taibu for 16 to reduce Zimbabwe to 114-6 after 38 overs.

Heath Streak
Heath Streak played some unorthodox shots for Zimbabwe

It was left to Streak to try to steer his side to a respectable total and he followed up his 46 against Australia by making 59 not out - his 11th one-day half century.

The real fireworks, however, came from Sean Ervine who cleared the ropes on three occasions as he raced to 48 off 33 balls in an unbroken seventh-wicket stand of 94.

Their efforts lifted the total past 200 but it never looked like challenging the powerful Indian batting line-up.

Sehwag and Tendulkar rattled along at more than five an over, with Tendulkar collecting six fours before being bowled by Ervine.

A hundred was there for the taking for Sehwag, but he was denied by Grant Flower's catch and Badani followed for 15 with the total on 172 when he was caught behind off Doug Hondo.

India needed only seven more overs to wrap things up with Ganguly cutting Flower for four to end the game, with partner VVS Laxman keeping him company to finish on 13.

India: V Sehwag, S R Tendulkar, S C Ganguly (Capt), V V S Laxman, R Dravid (Wkt), Yuvraj Singh, H K Badani, A B Agarkar, IK Pathan, A Kumble, L Balaji.

Zimbabwe: V Sibanda, S V Carlisle, M A Vermeulen, G W Flower, S Matsikenyeri, T Taibu (Wkt), H H Streak (Capt), S M Ervine, AM Blignaut, R W Price, DT Hondo.

Umpires: S A Bucknor and P D Parker

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport