BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 9 September, 2003, 12:21 GMT 13:21 UK
Pakistan ease to victory
First one-day international, Multan: Pakistan 323-3 (50 overs) beat Bangladesh 186 (43.2 overs) by 137 runs

Yasir Hameed batting in Multan
The decision to promote Hameed to opener paid off
Pakistan's batting power proved too much for Bangladesh as Yasir Hameed led the home side to a convincing win.

He was promoted to open after recently making two centuries at number three in his debut Test and responded with an innings of 116 from 132 balls.

But it was Inzamam-ul-Haq and Younis Khan who put the match beyond the tourists as they shared an unbroken stand of 112 in just 11 overs.

Bangladesh were soon in trouble in reply and number 10 Mushfiqur Rahman was their top scorer with 36 not out as they were bowled out with 6.4 overs of their innings remaining.

Pakistan chose to bat first after winning the toss and the decision was justified as Hameed and Mohammad Hafeez launched the innings with a stand of 62.

They were parted when Hafeez was run out for 27, and the same fate later befell Yousuf Youhana, who contributed 49 as he and Hameed put on 120 for the second wicket.

Hameed was eventually out in the 39th over when he hit leg-spinner Alok Kapali to Rajin Saleh, but there was no respite for the hard-pressed bowlers.

Mushfiqur Rahman
Mushfiqur Rahman played some bold shots for Bangladesh

Younis hit three sixes in his unbeaten 59 off 31 balls, while skipper Inzamam made 56 not out off 48 to pass 9,000 runs in one-day internationals.

Umar Gul made an immediate breakthrough with the ball for Pakistan as his fifth delivery accounted for Mohammad Ashraful, who was lbw.

Rajin Saleh (25) and Alok Kapali (26) made useuful contributions, but no-one looked likely to play the major innings needed to give Bangladesh any hope of reaching their target.

All-rounder Abdul Razzaq took 3-32, and Hafeez ended a stubborn last-wicket stand of 46 between Rahman and Mohammad Rafique (19) to finish with 3-17.

Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt) Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzaq, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik Kamran Akmal (Wkt), Shabbir Ahmed, Umar Gul, Junaid Zia.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar, Sanwar Hossain, Tushar Imran Mohammad Ashraful, Rajin Saleh, Alok Kapali, Khaled Mashud (Wkt) Khaled Mahmud (capt), Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza Mushfiqur Rahman.

Umpires: Aleem Dar and R B Tiffin

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport