BBC Sport athletics

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:38 GMT, Saturday, 28 November 2009

Irish pick Euro Cross selection

Paralympic gold medallist Michael McKillop on his win at the Irish Cross County Championships

Michael McKillop and Ciara Mageean are among seven Ulster athletes selected on the Irish team for the European Cross-Country Championships at Santry.

Paralympic champion McKillop clinched his place on the team with his stunning victory in the under-20 event at the Irish Inter-Counties Championship.

Mageean won the women's under-20 title at Kilbeggan.

Stephen Scullion, Noel Collins, Ian Ward, Emma Mitchell and Eimear Black are also named on the Ireland team.

McKillop will be joined by Omagh's Noel Collins and Finn Valley's Ian Ward in the junior event while Mageean's team-mates in the junior women's race will include Banbridge athlete Emma Mitchell and Ballymena & Antrim's Eimear Black.

North Belfast runner Scullion will compete in the men's under-23 event.

Alistair Cragg has been picked on the senior men's team after proving his fitness by clocking a time of 13 minutes and 45 seconds when finishing fifth in a road race in San Jose on Thursday night.

The senior teams will be led by Mary Cullen and Martin Fagan.

Cullen, who was impressive in taking the Woodie's DIY Inter County title on Sunday, will be joined on the women's senior team by Sli Cualann duo, Fionnuala Britton and Deirdre Byrne.

Joining Martin Fagan on the men's senior team is his Mullingar Harriers clubmate Mark Christie along with the top three from Sunday's Inter County Championships Andrew Ledwith, Sean Connolly and Mark Kenneally.

One notable absentee is West Waterford's David McCarthy who was not considered for under-23 team selection following discussions with the athlete and his coach.

Irish Team

Senior Men

Andrew Ledwith (Fr. Murphy's AC)

Sean Connolly (Tallaght AC)

Mark Kenneally (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

Martin Fagan (Mullingar Harriers AC)

Mark Christie (Mullingar Harriers AC)

Alistair Cragg (Clonliffe Harriers AC) / Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock's AC)

Senior Women

Mary Cullen (North Sligo AC)

Deirdre Byrne (Sli Cualann AC)

Linda Byrne (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Fionnuala Britton (Sli Cualann AC)

Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Orla O'Mahony (Raheny Shamrock's AC)

U-23 Men

Michael Mulhare (North Laois AC)

John Coghlan (Metro St. Brigid's AC)

Stephen Scullion (North Belfast Harriers AC)

David Flynn (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

David Rooney (Raheny Shamrock's AC)

Brendan O'Neill (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

U-23 Women

Sara Treacy (Moynalvey / Kilcloon AC)

Bryony Treston (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Maria Walsh (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Roseanne Galligan (Newbridge AC)

Breffni Twohig (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Laura Huet (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Junior Men

Michael McKillop (St. Malachy's AC)

Liam Tremble (Metro / St. Brigid's AC)

Ryan Creech (Leevale AC)

Emmett Jennings (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

Noel Collins (Omagh Harriers AC)

Ian Ward (Finn Valley AC)

Junior Women

Ciara Mageean (Lisburn AC)

Laura Shaughnessy (Loughrea AC)

Emma Mitchell (Banbridge AC)

Mary Mulhare (North Laois AC)

Eimear Black (Ballymena & Antrim AC)

Charlotte Ffrench-O'Carroll (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

see also
McKillop wins Irish junior title
22 Nov 09 |  Athletics
McKillop aims to match Smyth feat
17 Nov 09 |  Athletics
Sprinter Smyth claims Irish title
02 Aug 09 |  Athletics
Smyth claims second Beijing gold
16 Sep 08 |  Disability Sport
Smyth wins 100m gold in Beijing
13 Sep 08 |  Disability Sport
McKillop claims gold for Ireland
10 Sep 08 |  Disability Sport
McKillop mission
03 Sep 08 |  Disability Sport

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.