[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC Sport Front Page  |  Golf  |  Ryder Cup  
Ryder Cup 2002
Ryder Cup News

arrow EUROPE
Formative years
Post-War GB & Ireland
Post-War Europe

audio1931-33 Ryder Cup memories by Peter Alliss
1927 1929 1931 1933 1935 1937
1933Southport & Ainsdale, Lancashire
 Great Britain & Ireland61/2 - 51/2United States
Walter Hagen
Walter Hagen failed to lead the Americans to victory
JH Taylor, Britain's first non-playing captain, was a rigid disciplinarian and did not get on at all well with the flamboyant Walter Hagen, who almost accidentally hit him with a practice swing on the first tee.

The windy conditions were more to Britain's liking, but, as was the case in 1931, the team were without Henry Cotton.

He was not selected because of a rule stipulating that all players should be resident in their home country. Cotton had a professional post in Belgium, though Percy Alliss - an exile from 1931 - returned to the fold.

On home turf Britain were a strong proposition, though the foursomes matches were particularly tight.

The Ryder Cup eventually came down to the last contest on the course, between Herman Densmore Shute and Sid Easterbrook.

American Shute had a putt to win the match but missed two in succession to give Easterbrook a putt to win. Easterbrook sunk his from three feet to reclaim the Ryder Cup for Great Britain.

Shute made amends for his error by winning The Open, extending the run without a British winner of the Claret Jug to 10 years.

Easterbrook was the only non-American in the top six at St Andrews, but the Ryder Cup kept the home fires burning.

 Great Britain & Ireland61/2 - 51/2United States

P Alliss & C A Whitcombe halved with G Sarazen & W Hagen
A Mitchell & A G Havers beat O Dutra & D Shute (3&2)
W H Davies & S Easterbrook beat C Wood & P Runyan (1 hole)
A H Padgham & A Perry lost to E Dudley & W Burke (1 hole)

A H Padgham lost to G Sarazen (6&4)
A Mitchell beat O Dutra (9&8)
A J Lacey lost to W Hagen (2&1)
W H Davies lost to C Wood (4&3)
P Alliss beat P Runyan(2&1)
A G Havers beat L Diegel (4&3)
S Easterbrook beat D Shute (1 hole)
C A Whitcombe lost to H Smith (2&1)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]