Quick Guide: Islam
Printable version
Major religion

Muslim beliefs

Pillars of Islam

The mosque

Muslim sects

Pillars of Islam

Muslims are expected to live according to the Five Pillars of Islam.

The first is reciting the Muslim profession of faith sincerely. The second, Salat, involves performing ritual prayers five times daily.

Zakat means paying an alms for the poor, while Sawm involves fasting for the month of Ramadan. Those who are able to must make the Hajj to Mecca.

A committed Muslim believes fulfilling these obligations shows they are putting their faith before anything else.