Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

Low graphics|Accessibility help
newswatch banner
Last Updated: Friday, 25 February, 2005, 12:50 GMT
Ten out of Ten for BBC News

The Ten O'Clock news has been named news programme of the year at the Royal Television Society journalism awards, beating Newsnight and Channel 4 News.

The RTS judges said the programme was on "the top of its form" and had been consistently excellent in its reporting from home and abroad.

"The winner produced consistently stylish, and intelligent reporting from its stable of top quality correspondents," they added.

"The programme handled events, running stories and issues - at home and abroad - with real authority. It was a news programme at the top of its form and a very worthy winner."

Head of BBC television news Roger Mosey paid tribute to the programme's senior editorial team and praised Huw Edwards and Fiona Bruce "for presenting so authoritatively".

The BBC had one of its most successful nights ever, scooping 10 awards, compared with four for ITV, one for Channel 4, and one for Sky.

Hutton inquiry

The Ten O'Clock news also shared the news event award with Panorama for their special programme on Darfur.

The judges cited their commitment to the story - keeping it on the news agenda and reporting it in depth.

John Ware's Panorama film on the Hutton inquiry also won an award.

John Ware
Panorama's award was a tribute to the whole BBC, said John Ware

A Fight to the Death, broadcast in January 2004, featured criticism of the BBC's handling of the Andrew Gilligan affair.

The judges said: "The winning entry was a brilliant programme, a tour de force tackling the biggest and most difficult story of the year.

"It combined meticulous investigative reporting with an original approach and the drama intercut with reality was both bold and effective."

Ware said: "I don't know another organisation that would allow us to do this. We had no roadblocks. This is a tribute; this is an award to the BBC."

BBC2's This World strand won through against tough opposition in the international current affairs category from Adam Curtis's The Power of Nightmares and Channel 4's Death in Gaza, which featured footage of cameraman James Miller being shot by an Israeli soldier.

The international current affairs award went to This World documentary Access to Evil, independent producer Tom Roberts' film shot in North Korea.

Director of BBC News Helen Boaden said: "In a very tough year for journalism, we should all feel extremely proud that BBC work has been recognised in this way."

Full list of RTS winners:

Young Journalist of the Year
Alex Millar BBC ONE and BBC THREE

Ben Anderson - Holidays In The Danger Zone BBC TWO and BBC FOUR
Jonathan Gibson ITN for ITV News and ITV West Country

National and Regional Daily News Magazine
Wales Today - The Clywch Report BBC ONE Wales

BBC London News BBC ONE London
Reporting Scotland BBC ONE Scotland

National and Regional Current Affairs
Insight - When Hospitals Kill UTV

Frontline Scotland - Security Wars BBC ONE Scotland
Spotlight - Superdollars BBC ONE Northern Ireland

News Event
BBC ONE - Darfur

ITV News - Beslan School Siege ITN for ITV News
Channel 4 News - The Madrid Bombing ITN for Channel 4

News - International
ITV News at 10:30 - The Beslan Siege ITN for ITV News

BBC Ten O'Clock News - Falluja Attack BBC ONE
Channel 4 News: Inside Darfur - First Images Philip Cox/Native Voice Films/ ITN for Channel 4

News - Home
Newsnight - Al Muhajiroun BBC TWO

ITV Evening News - Binge Drinking ITN for ITV News
Channel 4 News: Sergeant Roberts - Why Did He Die? ITN for Channel 4

Salam Pax - GuardianFilms/Newsnight BBC TWO

ITV News - The Set ITN for ITV News
Channel 4 News - Snowmail ITN for Channel 4

Presenter of the Year
Alastair Stewart ITN for ITV News Channel

Jon Snow - Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4
Julie Etchingham Sky News

Current Affairs - Home
Panorama - A Fight to the Death BBC ONE

If the lights go out BBC TWO
The Secret Agent BBC Documentaries & Contemporary Factual for BBC ONE

Curent Affairs - International
This World - Access to Evil BBC TWO/October Films

Death in Gaza A Frostbite Films Production for HBO and Channel 4
The Power of Nightmares: The Rise of the Politics of Fear BBC TWO

News Programme of the Year
BBC Ten O'Clock News BBC ONE

Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4
Newsnight BBC TWO

News Channel of the Year
Sky News

ITV News Channel ITN for ITV News
BBC News 24

Camera Operator of the Year
Fred Scott BBC ONE

Robbie Wright BBC ONE
James Miller - Death in Gaza Channel 4

Specialist Journalism
Sarah Barclay BBC ONE

Hilary Andersson BBC ONE
Frank Gardner BBC ONE

Television Journalist of the Year
Lindsey Hilsum - Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4

Peter Taylor BBC ONE and BBC TWO
Hilary Andersson BBC ONE

Judges' Award
Sir Trevor McDonald OBE


^^ back to top
BBC News frontpage | NewsWatch | Notes | Contact us | Profiles | History
BBC News Newswatch Friday 20:45 on BBC News 24 and Saturday 07:45 Breakfast