Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:48 GMT, Friday, 25 July 2008 15:48 UK
Metallica announce song titles
James Hetfield of Metallica
Metallica are due to headline the Reading and Leeds festivals next month.

Metallica have announced the final song titles for their forthcoming 12th album Death Magnetic which is being released in September.

Broken, Beat and Scarred, Suicide and Redemption and Cyanide are three of the 10 songs that feature on the record.

Frontman James Hetfield has also explained what the meaning of the album's title is.

He said the name was a tribute to people in music business who have died like "rock and roll martyrs".

Death is a theme that continues throughout the album with songs titled That Was Just Your Life and The End Of The Line.

"Thinking about death is just like a magnet, some people are drawn towards it, other people are afraid of it and push away," Hatfield said.

"The concept that we're all gonna die sometimes is over-talked about and then a lot of times never talked about.

No one wants to bring it up, it's the big white elephant in the living room. But we all have to deal with it at some point," he added.

The band have also announced the album will be available for Guitar Hero the same day Death Magnetic hits the streets.

Every song will be available to download for the video game.

Metallica to play Wembley Stadium
Monday, 19 March 2007, 15:36 GMT |  Entertainment
Metallica embrace digital stores
Thursday, 27 July 2006, 10:55 GMT |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific