BBC Home
Explore the BBC
Last Updated: Monday, 16 June 2008, 21:48 GMT 22:48 UK
Alex Turner picks up a MOJO award
by Kev Geoghegan
Radio 1 music reporter

Alex Turner
The Last Shadow Puppets' Alex Turner

Alex Turner's side project, The Last Shadow Puppets, have picked up an award from MOJO music magazine.

The band were named best breakthrough act at a ceremony in London.

The Arctic Monkeys frontman formed the group with Miles Kane, singer with Liverpool band, The Rascals.

Their album, The Age Of The Understatement, topped the charts earlier this year.

Duffy won song of the year for Mercy.

It was praised by the magazine for being "timeless".

MOJO icons

The Sex Pistols were presented with the icon award by Ian Brown - himself named a Godlike Genius by the NME in 2006.

The band, fronted by Johnny Rotten, headlined the Isle of Wight festival on Saturday 14 June.

Following on from their massive reunion gig at the 02 in London in December, Led Zeppelin were named best live act.

English ska band, The Specials, were inducted into the magazine's hall of fame and former Blur guitarist Graham Coxon presented the Modfather, Paul Weller, with the outstanding contribution to music.

Lostprophets bring Download to a close
Monday, 16 June 2008, 10:20 GMT |  Music
Kaisers triumph at Isle of Wight Festival
Sunday, 15 June 2008, 11:39 GMT |  Music
Bonham hopes for Zeppelin tour
Friday, 13 June 2008, 15:05 GMT |  Music
Eminem reveals new album plans
Friday, 13 June 2008, 12:51 GMT |  Music

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.