BBC Home
Explore the BBC
Last Updated: Friday, 11 April 2008, 10:29 GMT 11:29 UK
Coldplay reveal new song titles

Coldplay have named the 10 tracks which will appear on their new studio album, Viva La Vida.

In a handwritten note on the band's official website, it is revealed the album will be launched in the UK on 16 June.

It adds that Coldplay hope to release a couple of singles before then.

The tracklisting includes names like Life In Technicolor, Cemeteries Of London, Strawberry Swing and Death And All His Friends.

The note is apparently addressed from Taormina, a small town on the east coast of Sicily and is signed off by 'Prospekt'.

Viva La Vida is believed to be heavily influenced by Coldplay's recent tour of South America during a break from recording.

The trip included shows in Chile, Argentina, Brazil and Mexico.

Chris Martin revealed the album takes its name from a painting by Frida Kahlo, the acclaimed 20th century Mexican artist.

Coldplay have, so far, announced just one gig for 2008 at the Pemberton Festival in Canada on 27 July.

Coldplay name their new album
Wednesday, 19 March 2008, 12:32 GMT |  Music
Duffy defends 'blue eyed soul'
Friday, 11 April 2008, 09:35 GMT |  Music
The Courteeners eye chart success
Thursday, 10 April 2008, 11:24 GMT |  Music
Demand for Glastonbury tickets 'down'
Friday, 14 March 2008, 07:59 GMT |  Music

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.