BBC NEWS VOTE 2001      > High graphics
VOTE2001 | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales |

High graphics only: Main Issues | Features | Crucial Seats | Key People | Parties | Results & Constituencies | Candidates | Opinion Polls | Online 1000 | Virtual Vote | Talking Point | Forum | AudioVideo | Programmes | Voting System | Local Elections |

Friday, 8 June, 2001, 21:10 GMT 22:10 UK

Cabinet changes: At-a-glance

Tony Blair hits the ground running with a cabinet reshuffle affecting some of Labour's biggest hitters. BBC News Online lists the movers, winners and losers.

  • Robin Cook, the foreign secretary, becomes leader of the House of Commons.

  • David Blunkett steps down from the Department for Education and Employment to take on the role of home secretary.

  • Jack Straw leaves the Home Office and becomes foreign secretary.

  • Estelle Morris, former schools minister, is promoted to take charge at the new Department of Education and Skills.

  • Stephen Byers leaves the Department of Trade and Industry and becomes secretary of state at the Department of Transport, Local Government and the Regions.

  • Alistair Darling, formerly social security secretary, heads the new Department for Work and Pensions.

  • Margaret Beckett, formerly leader of the House of Commons, heads-up a new Department for Environment and Rural Affairs.

  • John Prescott remains deputy prime minister but leaves the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions for his own office in the Cabinet Office.

  • Nick Brown is moved from his post as agriculture minister to become minister for work, although he will continue to sit in on cabinet meetings.

  • Tessa Jowell, formerly a minister of state in the Department for Education and Employment, becomes culture media and sport secretary.

  • Patricia Hewitt, until now a minister of state in the Department of Trade and Industry, becomes secretary of state for trade and industry and minister for women.

  • Charles Clarke, formerly a Home Office minister, moves into the cabinet as minister without portfolio and Labour Party Chairman.

  • Hilary Armstrong leaves her job as minister of state in the DETR to become chief whip.

  • John Spellar, who has served as armed forces minister, becomes transport minister.

  • Culture Secretary Chris Smith and Chief Whip Ann Taylor are both dropped from the cabinet.

  • Away from the politicians, Alastair Campbell becomes director of communications and strategy at 10 Downing Street. His previous role of prime minister's spokesman is jointly taken by Godric Smith - already based at Downing Street - and Tom Kelly from the Northern Ireland Office.

    ^ Back to top©BBC