Local BBC Sites

Neighbouring Sites

Page last updated at 12:27 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 13:27 UK
Vera Baird loses Redcar to the Liberal Democrats
Ian Swales
Ian Swales is Redcar's first non-Labour MP

Liberal Democrat Ian Swales is the first non-Labour MP to represent the Redcar constituency.

It's been in Labour hands since it was created in 1974, and in the last 36 years has only had three MPs.

James Tinn was elected in 1974 having previously held the Cleveland seat which was abolished for the 1974 election.

He held Redcar for three terms, as did his successor Mo Mowlam who was elected in 1987.

Dr Mowlam held a number of posts in the Labour cabinet, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

Mo Mowlam
Mo Mowlam was a member of the Labour cabinet

She was Northern Ireland Secretary at the time of the signing of the Good Friday Peace Agreement in 1998.

Boundary change

In 2001 when Vera Baird was elected, Labour's share of the vote dropped from 67% to 60%. And in 2005 she took 51% of the vote.

At the 2010 election the constituency boundary changed - moving part of Saltburn ward into Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland while part of St Germains ward was fully incorporated into Redcar.

Corus closure

The most high profile issue in the constituency in the run up to the General Election has been the mothballing of the Corus steel plant.

Vera Baird
Vera Baird was involved in the campaign to save Corus

Vera Baird was heavily involved in the campaign to save Corus but there was criticism of the Government for not stepping in.

Dari Taylor, who was the Labour MP for Stockton South, criticised the government for not nationalising Corus until a buyer could be found.

She also lost her seat at this election.

Ian Swales won the Redcar seat for the Liberal Democrats with a majority of 5,214 after a swing of nearly 22% from Labour to the Lib Dems.

Labour loses 'Corus jobs' seats
07 May 10 |  England


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific