Page last updated at 13:14 GMT, Wednesday, 7 April 2010 14:14 UK
Guide to Shropshire constituencies

Ballot box
There are no local council elections in Shropshire in 2010

The county of Shropshire is broken into five constituencies, including two within the Telford and Wrekin area. Click on the constituency names for a complete guide to each area and a list of candidates.


The largely urban Telford constituency is the smallest, in terms of area, within Shropshire. The seat was created in 1997, following boundary changes. Since 1997 the Telford constituency has been held by Labour, firstly by Bruce Grocott and then by David Wright (since 2001).

Further boundary changes this election see Telford gain Ketley and Priorslee from the Wrekin constituency, while Lawley goes in the opposite direction.

General election 2010 logo
The 2010 general election will take place on 6 May


Although named the Ludlow constituency, the seat covers south Shropshire, including Bridgnorth, Craven Arms and Church Stretton.

In terms of land, it is the largest constituency in the county, but also the most sparsely populated.

Liberal Democrat Matthew Green took the seat in 2001, with Philip Dunne winning the seat back for the Conservatives in 2005.

Ludlow has been identified as among the Liberal Democrats' target seats (number 13). A 4.4% shift in votes (based on 2005 result) would change control of the constituency.

Shrewsbury and Atcham

The Shrewsbury and Atcham constituency covers not only the town of Shrewsbury, but also a large rural patch surrounding it. It includes both relatively wealthy areas and some areas that are listed as among the top 25% most deprived in England.

In 2005 Daniel Kawczynski won the seat for the Conservatives. It has been identified as among Labour's target seats (number 25). A 3.6% shift in votes (based on 2005 result) would change control of the constituency.

North Shropshire

The North Shropshire constituency stretches across the top of the county, covering Shropshire's third largest town Oswestry, along with market towns Whitchurch, Wem and Market Drayton, as well as a large rural area.

The late John Biffen, a former Conservative cabinet minister, sat for North Shropshire from 1961 until 1997. He was succeeded by Owen Paterson who has held the seat for the Conservatives since 1997.

The Wrekin

Heavily affected by boundary changes at the 1997 election, when the Telford constituency was created, Labour took the seat in 1997 and held onto it in 2001. Mark Pritchard won control for the Conservatives in 2005.

The Wrekin has been identified as among Labour's target seats (number 23). A 2.9% shift in votes (based on 2005 result) would change control of the constituency.

Postal voters hit a record high
20 Apr 10 |  People & Places
Timetable to Election 2010
06 Apr 10 |  Election 2010



Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific