Local BBC Sites

Page last updated at 12:53 GMT, Wednesday, 16 June 2010 13:53 UK
Shortlist for John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize
Fontana Peter McDonald
Fontana by Peter McDonald winner of the 25th John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize in 2008

45 artists have been shortlisted for the 2010 John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize.

The winner, who is awarded £25,000, will be revealed in September.

All the shortlisted artists will have their works displayed at the Walker Art Gallery from 18 September, 2010 to 3 January, 2011.

Previous winners of the prize, which now forms a key part of the Liverpool Biennial, include David Hockney and Richard Hamilton.

This year, for the first time, the announcement of the winner will be broadcast live on the internet.

The competition, the UK's biggest painting prize, is open to all UK based artists working with paint.

A panel of five judges shortlisted the winners for the competition, artist Gary Hume, who has exhibited at Tate Britain; former Associate Artist as the National Gallery, Alison Watt; Liverpool born Ged Quinn who exhibited at the John Moores exhibition in 2008; Goschka Macuga a polish artist who has been nominated for the Turner Prize; and Sir Norman Rosenthal, former Exhibitions Secretary of the Royal Academy of Arts.

The prize also moves overseas with a parallel competition running in Shanghai, where Liverpool is currently exhibiting at the World Expo.

The 5 prizewinners from the Shanghai competition, which is part of the Biennial Festival of Contemporary Art of Painting in China, will be exhibited at the Walker Art Gallery in Liverpool, alongside the winners of the UK competition.

John Moores Contemporary Painting Prize shortlisted artists

Cornelia Baltes: THERE YOU ARE!
Jon Braley: untitled
Deborah Burnstone: Freeway
Darren Coffield: PISODICAL
Keith Coventry: Spectrum Jesus
Edward Coyle: Multiplicity study
Theo Cuff: untitled
Stuart Cumberland: 240Y/1 2009
Ian Davenport: Puddle Painting: Dioxazine
Philip Diggle: For Your Pleasure
Tim Ellis: United in Different Guises XXXXIII
Geraint Evans: An Alpine Biodome
Adam Fearon: Untitled
Damien Flood: Drip
Nick Fox: Metatopia
David Fulford: Near the Site
Mikey Georgeson: Untitled (Molecule of Intuition)
Chris Hamer: Crook
Andy Harper: Frau Troffea
Richard Harrison: Mountain Peaks
Sigrid Holmwood: Butchering a Pig
Phil Illingworth: 3D painting No.1 (experiments with colour reflection)
Lee Johnson: The Kerchief or Dr Olfato's Welcome
Joseph Long: Hortus Botanicus
Elizabeth McDonald: Bee Keepers I
Nicholas Middleton: "Protest, April 1st 2009"
Michael Miller: Suspended Animation
Matthew Mounsey: Prehistoric Sex Machine
Jost Münster: to the left
Cara Nahaul: Somewhere between prayer and agenda
Narbi Price: Untitled See Saw Painting
Steven Proudfoot: The Party
Sabrina Shah: Witness
Annabelle Shelton: Helter Skelter Runway 2009
George Sherlock: Polycrylic Decades
Michael Simpson: Bench Painting Untitled
Henrietta Simson: Giotto's Template
Veronica Smirnoff: Lubo
Ian Peter Smith: Matter at the edge
Daniel Sturgis: Still Squallings
Geraldine Swayne: Industrialist on Wheels
Christian Ward: Frontier Monument

John Moores prize judging begins
08 Jun 10 |  Arts & Culture
How Liverpool began home shopping
17 Mar 10 |  History
Art prize begins call for entries
10 Nov 09 |  Arts & Culture
In pictures: John Moores Painting Prize
18 Sep 08 |  In Pictures


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific