In pictures: Brunel's Royal Albert Bridge
May 2009 saw the 150th anniversary of the opening of the Royal Albert Bridge. This picture shows the Brunel Centenarian Special crossing the bridge in 1959 - to mark the 100th anniversary of the opening of the bridge.
The first main span was positioned in 1857 and the completed bridge was opened by Prince Albert on 2 May 1859.
On 1 September 1857 about 20,000 people watched the first truss being floated out into the centre of the river supported by two barges.
The bridge's unique design consists of two 455 ft (138.7 m) lenticular iron trusses 100 ft (30.5 m) above the water, with conventional plate-girder approach spans. It is a total of 2,187.5 ft (666.8 m) long.
The Royal Albert Bridge, pictured from the Cornish side of the Tamar.
Looking towards Devon, with Brunel's bridge alongside the road bridge.
On 3 May 2009 about 400 people were allowed to walk across Brunel's Royal Albert railway bridge for the first time in a quarter of a century.
The railway line bridges the Tamar, linking Devon with Cornwall.
Isambard Kingdom Brunel designed the bridge but did not attend the eventual opening due to ill health.
He did get to cross the bridge on an open wagon two days after the opening. He died four months later on 5 September 1859.
After Brunel's death his name was placed above the portals at either end of the bridge as a memorial.