Geevor Tin Mine was operational until 1991. Now it is a museum and heritage centre
Historic mining archives from some of Cornwall's famous mines can be seen for the first time in a new exhibition.
The new interactive exhibition tells the story of eight different mining areas.
Underground, Overground consists of historic plans from the Geevor Archive.
Each tell an interesting story of why such detailed and sometimes beautiful underground plans were produced.
The exhibition looks back at the rich mining history of the area
Geevor Tin Mine can be found between the villages of Pendeen and Trewellard in west Cornwall.
It was operational between 1911 and 1991. In that period the mine produced about 50,000 tons of black tin.
Geevor's curator, Jo Warburton, said: "This exhibition provides our visitors with an idea of what's under their feet here at Geevor and the St Just Mining District as a whole.
"From the Wheal Owles disaster in 1893, where a surveying error led to the deaths of 20 miners, to a plan showing mine workings at Geevor and Levant extending over a mile out to sea, it is fascinating to be able to display these plans for the very first time.
"We have been lucky to get several grants to undertake this exhibition and have been helped along the way by the St Just Mines Research Group."
Visitors can follow the interactive trail throughout the exhibition to discover the story behind each plan through historic and modern photographs of both underground and surface workings, and join in with the "Shafts and Ladders" game.
Underground, Overground will be exhibited at Geevor Tin Mine until the end of April 2011.