Local BBC Sites

Page last updated at 11:01 GMT, Wednesday, 15 September 2010 12:01 UK
Denise Lewis and Bert Williams get Hall of Fame honour
Denise Lewis MBE, OBE
Lewis was one of 11 gold medallists for Great Britain at the Sydney Olympics

Olympic gold medallist Denise Lewis and legendary goalkeeper Bert Williams are among five new inductees into Wolverhampton's Sporting Hall of Fame.

The pair will be joined by racing driver Richard Atwood and the Wolverhampton Referees Association.

There will also be a posthumous honour for world-championship cyclist Raymond Jones, who died in 1980.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1999, has more than 40 individual and 18 club or organisation members.

Wolverhampton sporting icons

Chairman of Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council Peter Holmes said:

"I am delighted that we will shortly be inducting four more famous names into the Hall of Fame, as well as a sporting organisation that has helped develop some of the best football referees this country has seen.

"The individuals concerned are all true sportsmen and women and an icon of all that is good about sport in Wolverhampton."

Denise Lewis capped her successful athletics career by taking gold at the 2000 Sydney Olympics in the heptathlon.

She also won gold medals at the Commonwealth Games in 1994 and 1998 - the year she became European champion.

Lewis was awarded the MBE and OBE and retired from athletics in 2005.

England and Wolves legend

Bert Williams made 420 appearances for Wolves, winning the FA Cup in 1949 and the First Division title in 1953/54.

Bert Williams MBE
Williams was part of Wolves' legendary team of the 1950s

He also won 24 caps for England and played in the 1950 World Cup Finals in Brazil.

He was awarded the MBE in 2010.

Richard Atwood began racing in Formula 1 in 1968, driving in 17 Grand Prix with a best finish of second place in Monaco in his debut race.

His career highlight came in 1970 when he won the Le Man 24 Hour race.

Racing stars

Raymond Jones finished sixth in the 100km race at the 1937 World Championships in Denmark and was runner-up in the Isle of Man Road Race a year later, when he raced on a borrowed bike after his suffered a puncture.

His cycling career was ended by outbreak of the Second World War.

The newest additions to the Hall of Fame will be inducted on Saturday, 25 September 2010.


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific