Local BBC Sites

Page last updated at 09:21 GMT, Tuesday, 23 November 2010
Curry capital: Birmingham versus Wolverhampton
Who will win the curry capital title?

Birmingham and Wolverhampton are going head to head for the title of Curry Capital of Britain 2010.

Both neighbouring cities in the West Midlands have submitted evidence as to why they should win the title.

Leicester won the last Curry Capital of Britain title in 2007.

The competition is being re-introduced for 2010 as part of the 13th National Curry Week (21-27 November) and the winner will be announced on 8th December.

Pride of Birmingham

Birmingham's 'Balti Triangle' - an area around Sparkbrook, Balsall Heath and Moseley - has around 50 restaurants, won the title in 2005 and is also listed in the top 25 travel experiences in the Rough Guide to Britain.

Four curry house restaurants in Wolverhampton have been selected by the public to help crown the city as Curry Capital of Britain.

Bilash, Red Fort, Cafe Rickshaw, Chapel Ash and Malabar were selected by members of the public to form Wolverhampton's entry.

Balti cities

Curry restaurant owners of Imrans on Ladypool Road in Birmingham and Café Ricksaw in Wolverhampton defended their balti cities on the Phil Upton Breakfast Show on Monday, 22 November.

Each restaurant will be rated by judges who will examine the standard of their food, service, hygiene, cleanliness and how they serve their communities. A dossier will also be submitted to judges explaining why the city should be named Britain's Curry Capital 2010.

Wolverhampton and Birmingham are up against Bradford, Newcastle, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Manchester, Glasgow, Liverpool, Leeds, Sheffield and Leicester for the title.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific