Maggie Philbin explores Windsor Castle's secret corners
A sword measuring 6ft 8ins (2.032m) belonging to King Edward III hangs in the South Quire Aisle of St George's Chapel.
A trapdoor in the floor of St George's Chapel leads to a Sally Port, a secret exit for the occupants in a time of siege.
Many of the tourists to St George's Chapel miss out on seeing these carvings, called misericords, because they are wood carvings under the seats. They date from the 1470s and 1480s.
St George's Chapel reputedly contains amongst the best misericords in the country. They depict historical scenes, fables, humorous and grotesque objects.
The top of St George's Chapel boasts a great view of the lower ward of the castle. The roof also gives a close up view of the carved stone royal beasts lining the roof. The beasts can be seen by visitors from ground level but they are a long way away.
St George's Cloister, seen from above.
The Aerary was the treasure house for money, jewels and documents. Built in 1353, it pre-dates the current chapel by over 100 years. It is now empty except for filing cabinets built in 1422. Each drawer has a name of a place on it.
St George Chapel has recently been cleaned and restored, revealing intricate stonework. These decorations are high up and cannot be seen clearly from ground level but are exquisite in detail.