news vote 2001search vote 2001
 You are in: Vote2001: Results & Constituencies
Main Issues 
Crucial Seats 
Key People 
Results &  Constituencies 
Opinion Polls 
Online 1000 
Virtual Vote 
Talking Point 
Voting System 
Local Elections 

N Ireland 

BBC News

BBC Sport

BBC Weather
Results & Constituencies
Other Labour hold
Name Party Votes % +/- %
David Lammy Labour 21,317 67.5 -1.8
Uma Fernandes Conservative 4,401 13.9 -1.8
Meher Khan Liberal Democrat 3,008 9.5 -1.3
Peter Budge Green 1,443 4.6 +1.8
Weyman Bennett Socialist Alliance 1,162 3.7  
Unver Shefki Reform 2000 270 0.9  
Majority 16,916 53.5
Turnout 31,601 48.2 -8.7
Against 1997 General Election 0.0% from Labour to Conservative
Lab-Con (against 1997) 0.0% from Conservative to Labour

Tottenham was the seat of the late Labour MP Bernie Grant, who died in May 2000. He was replaced by David Lammy, who beat off candidates including Mr Grantís wife, Sharon, to gain the Labour nomination.

Tottenham is quite a poor and deprived area and rich in ethnic diversity - including just under 40% non-whites, from a whole host of nationalities including Russians, Spaniards, Greek and Turkish Cypriots, Africans, Irish, Hasidic Jews, Asians, Caribbean islanders and, more recently, Kosovans and other people from eastern Europe. Afro-Caribbeans are by far the largest community.

The Broadwater farm estate, which became notorious after the riots in 1985, falls within the seat. The estate houses 3,500 people from 39 different nations, and is enjoying a £33m facelift. Famous landmarks here include White Hart Lane, home to Tottenham Hotspurs football club, and Finsbury Park.

This has over the years been one of Labour's safest London seats. One aberration was in 1959 when the Labour MP Alan Brown defected to the Conservatives. He was easily beaten by former Labour treasurer Norman Atkinson in 1964 who held the seat until 1987, when Mr Grant defeated him for the party nomination.

Past Results

1997 General Election
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
Bernie Grant Labour 26,121 69.3
Andrew Scantlebury Conservative 5,921 15.7
Neil Hughes Liberal Democrat 4,064 10.8
Peter Budge Green 1,059 2.8
Eleanor Tay ProLife Alliance 210 0.6
Christopher Anglin Workers Rev 181 0.5
Tania Kent Independent 148 0.4
Majority 20,200 53.6
Turnout 37,704 56.9
Parliamentary By-Election
Labour hold
Name Party Votes %
David Lammy Labour 8,785 53.5
Duncan Hames Liberal Democrat 3,139 19.1
James Ellison Conservative 2,634 16.0
Weyman Bennett London Soc All 885 5.4
Peter Budge Green 606 3.7
Erroll Basarik Reform 2000 177 1.1
Ashwin Tanna UK Independence 136 0.8
Derek De Braam Independent 55 0.3
Majority 5,646 34.4
Turnout 16,417 25.4